Printer Friendly

QPO to perform Brahms' Violin Concerto.

THE emotionally enriching Violin Concerto by yesteryear violinist Johannes Brahms will be the centrepiece for the Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra's (QPO) next concert on March 19.

Lithuanian-born violinist Dalia Kuznecovaite will perform the evocative piece, perhaps one of the best known works by Brahms, in the Opera House at Katara Cultural Village.

Violin Concerto in D major, Op.

77 is a concerto in three movements composed by Brahms in 1878 for his friend, violinist Josef Joachim.

It was Brahms' only violin concerto and according to Joachim, one of the four great German violin concert.

Brahms, whose work is uttered in the same breath as Beethoven and Bach, imbued all his work with great emotional depth.

Acclaimed violinist Kuznecovaite, performing with the QPO for the first time, has been internationally lauded for her work and has performed with orchestras in Lithuania, Canada and Germany.

In the 2008, she won the international J Brahms competition in PE[micro]rtschach, Austria, and also earned a special award from the Mozart Academy.

The evening's programme will also see a unique blend of modern and folkloric music by Azerbaijani composer Fikret Asimov.

Little-known to the Doha audience, Fikret's work blends conservative, romantic musical style in a synthesis of the folk tradition of his native land and former Soviet state, Azerbaijan, and Western classical forms.

The Azerbaijani Capriccio, for just over 10 minutes, is an exotic picture postcard of the composer's homeland: eastern modal flavour, colourful instrumental flourishes, intensely driving brass figures and sweeping cinematic string passages.

Also on the programme is Symphony No.

5 in D Minor (Reformation), Op.107 by German composer Felix Mendelssohn.

He composed this piece for the centenary of the Augsburg Protestant Confession.

This Confession was a key document of Lutheranism and its presentation to Emperor Charles V in June 1530 was a momentous event of the Protestant Reformation.

The symphony was written for a full orchestra and was the second extended symphony that Mendelssohn had written.

It was not published until 1868, 21 years after the composer's death.

The QPO will be led by Enrique BEitiz, one of the most famous orchestra conductors in Latin America.

He began his musical career at an early age, giving his first public performance as a pianist at the age of five and has worked with some of the world's most famous orchestras including the London Philharmonic.

Kurt Meister, Managing Director of QPO, said the programme was a rare opportunity to hear unique works.

"These are works that will challenge and enlighten the audience.

All represent different eras and experiences and have one thing in common.

They take the audience on an emotional journey of great depth.

QPO is proud to be adding to the rich and growing diversity of Qatar's cultural agenda by bringing these works and artists to life for our audience," Meister said.

The next performance of the QPO on March 26 at Katara Cultural Village will be Concerto for Orchestra, featuring the works of Bartok and Liszt as well as a performance of Rageh Daoud's Mermaid for Orchestra /Depth of the Sea.

Copyright Qatar Tribune. All Rights Reserved.

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2011 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Qatar Tribune (Doha, Qatar)
Date:Mar 15, 2011
Previous Article:Pakistani envoy opens new consular lounge.
Next Article:DFI to host workshop on movie stunts.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters