Printer Friendly

Winner of Arthur C Clarke award announced.


Richard Morgan has been named as the winner of this year's Arthur C Clarke award for his fifth novel, the science fiction thriller Black Man.

The award, which was first presented in 1987, was reportedly established with a grant from Clarke with the aim of promoting the science fiction genre.

This year's judging panel was comprised of Paul Billinger, who was chair of the judges, as well as Niall Harrison and Claire Weaver for the British Science Fiction Association, Pauline Morgan for SF Crowsnest, and Pat Cadigan and Francis Spufford for the Science Fiction Foundation.

According to The Guardian, other shortlisted titles included Sarah Hall for The Carhullan Army, Matthew de Albuitia for The Red Men, Stephen Baxter with The H-Bomb Girl, Stephen Hall for The Raw Shark Texts, and Ken MacLeod with The Execution Channel.
COPYRIGHT 2008 Normans Media Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:M2 Best Books
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:May 1, 2008
Previous Article:Toronto office to be opened by Hachette.
Next Article:HarperCollins signs deal with social networking site for parenting books.

Related Articles
Winner of the Arthur C Clarke award announced.
Late writer on the shortlist for prize.
Public to vote for favourite Carnegie winner.
Winner of Arthur C Clarke award for science fiction announced.
OBITUARY: Arthur C Clarke.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters