Printer Friendly

Wilson Award Winners for 1999.

Five individuals and one team will share this year's Edgar Wilson Award for comet discoveries by amateurs -- worth an estimated $20,000 total. According to the IAU's Central Bureau for Astronomical Telegrams, the winners are Peter Williams (Australia) for his discovery of C/1998 P1; Roy Tucker (U.S.A.) for P/1998 QP54; Michael Jager (Austria) for P/1998 U3; Justin Tilbrook (Australia) for C/1999 A1; Korado Korlevic and Mario Juric (Croatia) for P/1999 DN3; and Steven Lee (Australia) for C/1999 H1. Details about the award itself appear in IAU Circular 6936 and at

COPYRIGHT 1999 All rights reserved. This copyrighted material is duplicated by arrangement with Gale and may not be redistributed in any form without written permission from Sky & Telescope Media, LLC.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1999 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Sky & Telescope
Article Type:Brief Article
Date:Oct 1, 1999
Previous Article:Scrutinizing Pulsar Planets.
Next Article:Antimatter Finding Has Cosmological Implications.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters