Printer Friendly

Who's who.


Maria started with the Academy in 1979 as director of marketing and communications, and was promoted to chief of staff in 1990. Since 1997, Maria has been an executive producer for the Genie, Gemini and Gemeaux Awards; she has overseen the Academy's year-round educational and professional development; been in charge of promotional services and programs; and overseen publications, information and research.

Topalovich is the author of two anthologies on the Canadian film industry entitled, "And the Genie Goes To ...: Celebrating 50 Years of the Canadian Film Awards" and "A Pictorial History of the Canadian Film Awards."

In November 2004, Maria received the Crystal Award from Women in Film & Television, which honors extraordinary achievements of women in screen-based industries. She was also honored by the Canadian Society of Cinema tographers with the 1999 Bill Hilson Award for Outstanding Service to the Development of the Motion Picture Industry in Canada.


Paul's involvement with the Academy began in 1986. His experience and expertise in programming developed when he worked at various art houses and repertory cinemas in the Ottawa area. Since 1991 he has worked with the Genie Awards as a volunteer for the Rules and Regulations Committee. In 1991, he also became CEO of the Ontario Film Development Corporation, a position he held until early in 1994, when he joined Citytv as senior program executive. He became the first vice-chair, Cinema in 1997. Currently Gratton is the station manager for Bravo! and the vp and general manager of Space: The Imagination Station and Drive-In Classics for CHUM Television. He has, most recently, been appointed vice president of Independent Production for CHUM Television.


Rudy is the creative head, Network Programming at TVOntario. He is the immediate past chair of the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television and president of the Academy Foundation, a position he held for seven years. Buttignol chairs the Toronto Documentary Forum International Advisory Council, and is a governor of the Banff Television Foundation. He is a nine-time Gemini award-winner.


Andra was the first executive director of the Academy and worked in that capacity for 10 years. She continues her involvement in various activities. Andra is currently the executive director of the Independent Production Fund, Cogeco Program Development Fund and the Bell Broadcast and New Media Fund.
COPYRIGHT 2005 TV Trade Media, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Academy of Canadian Cinema And Television Silver Anniversary
Publication:Video Age International
Geographic Code:1CANA
Date:Jan 1, 2005
Previous Article:Tribute to the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television.
Next Article:Messages.

Related Articles
How a Genie came out of an Etrog: the Academy (of Canadian Cinema and Television) turns 20.
From sea to sea: Toronto.
(Lack of a definable Ontario film culture).
A Chronology of Canadian Film and Television.
The 25th Annversary of The Film Studies Association of Canada / Association Canadienne Des Etudes Cinematographiques.
Tribute to the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television.
Reminiscing with.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters