Printer Friendly

Western scientists receive Arab world's most prestigious prize.

On 6 March, three American scientists were awarded the King Faisal International Prize, known colloquially as the "Arab Nobel Prize" by Defence Minister Prince Sulman bin Abdulazi (below, left) at a ceremony in Saudi Arabia. Dr Alexander Varshavsky, Professor of Cell Biology at the California Institute of Technology, accepted the Prize for Science for his pioneering work in cell biology, in the treatment of cancer. The Prize for Medicine was awarded jointly to two American professors, Richard L. Berkowitz (below) and James Bruce Bussel, for their research into life-threatening conditions in unborn and newborn infants. They join a long list of distinguished scholars and scientists from the Middle East and wider world whose achievements have been recognised by the Prize committee over the last 30 years. "We are delighted and very proud to have won a King Faisal International Prize," Professor Berkowitz said. "It is a great honour."


COPYRIGHT 2012 IC Publications Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Compass 04/2012: News and Views from around the World; Alexander Varshavsky, Richard L. Berkowitz and James Bruce Bussel
Publication:The Middle East
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:7SAUD
Date:Apr 1, 2012
Previous Article:Omani rose essence retains its traditional methods.
Next Article:Royal Jet wins award for the fifth time.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters