Printer Friendly

West Central Division. (Division News).

The West Central Division Competitions were a splendid success, and we wish to thank our Sioux Falls and South Dakota hosts. We especially recognize the chairs: Arlene Krueger, NCTM, local; Rick Andrews, facilities; Doriene Halvorson and Phyllis Teslaa, hospitality; and Cheryl Koch, NCTM, monitors. Everyone appreciated the smooth planning and staging by competitions chair David Piersel, NCTM, and coordinators Paul Reed, NCTM, William Lipke and Diana Skroch, NCTM.

The Nebraska MTA (NMTA) announces its Teacher of the Year, Audun Ravnan. Ravnan was on the faculty of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for thirty-six years and participated in numerous NMTA and MTNA auditions. NMTA is also proud to announce a new student chapter formed at the University of Nebraska-Omaha, under the leadership of faculty advisor James Johnson.

The Iowa MTA has formed a statewide collegiate chapter, guided by Sue Haug, NCTM, Suzanne Torkelson, NCTM, and Ksenia Nosikova. Active chapters at each institution will continue to be encouraged, but statewide activities for student events now will be coordinated as well.

The North Dakota MTA (NDMTA) has named Carole Flatau, NCTM, as Teacher of the Year. She has attended every MTNA National Conference since 1973 and was a charter member of NDMTA, joining in 1957.

--Janice Wenger, NCTM Columbia, Missouri
COPYRIGHT 2003 Music Teachers National Association, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Music Teachers National Association
Author:Wenger, Janice
Publication:American Music Teacher
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Apr 1, 2003
Previous Article:Southwest Division. (Division News).
Next Article:Southern Division. (Division News).

Related Articles
National Office Candidates.
Northwest Division. (Division News).
Division elections results.
South Central Division.
East Central Division.
Northwest Division.
West Central Division.
East Central Division.
South Central Division.
Foundation Fund: 2006 MTNA Foundation Fellows.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |