Printer Friendly

Weskamp succeeds Rhoades as AMT chairman, other officers elected.

At its annual meeting in Scottsdale, Ariz., this month, AMT--The Association for Manufacturing Technology elected R.J. Weskamp as its chairman. He heads Wes-Tech Inc. (Buffalo Grove, Ill.), a company he founded in 1976. Weskamp holds a degree in electrical engineering and an MBA from Purdue; he was founder of the Factory Automation Manufacturers' Assn. and helped form the Custom Automated Systems Group of AMT, which he chaired for three years.

Weskamp has been first vice chairman of the trade association. As chairman he replaces Lawrence J. Rhoades, president of Extrude Hone Corp (Irwin, Pa.), who now serves a two-year term as ex-officio member of the board of directors.

The board elected David J. Burns, president and CEO of Gleason Corp. (Rochester, N.Y.), to serve as its first vice chairman. Bums, who holds a degree from St. John Fisher College and an MBA from the Univ. of Rochester, joined Gleason in 1978.

Douglas K. Woods, president and CEO of Liberty Precision Industries (Rochester, N.Y.), was re-elected to a three year term on the board and now serves as second vice chairman and treasurer for the coming year. A graduate of Syracuse Univ., Woods has been involved with the machine automation industry since 1975.

A third upstate-New Yorker on the AMT executive committee, J. Patrick Ervin, president and CEO of Hardinge Inc. (Elmira, N.Y.) and another Syracuse Univ. graduate, also was re-elected to a three-year term. He continues to serve as association secretary.

Newly elected to a three-year term on AMT's board of directors is Ronald F. Schildge, president of Transmares Corp. (Shrewsbury, N.J.). A Cornell Univ. graduate, Schildge was instrumental in setting up Transmares subsidiary, Eitel Presses Inc.; at AMT he's been on its economics committee and chaired it from 1993-96 and served on government relations and global marketing committees.

Other, continuing members of AMT's board of directors include Richard P. Bodine Jr. (Bodine Assembly & Test Systems), Dan L. Griffith (Moore Tool), Bradley L. Lawton (Star Cutter), Brian J. Papke (Mazak), and former chairman John J. Winch (Minster Machine).

The trade association's 2004 annual meeting will be Nov. 1013 near Ft. Myers/Naples, Fla.

AMT--The Assn. for Mfg. Technology, McLean, Va. 703-893-2900.
COPYRIGHT 2003 Gardner Publications, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Metalworking Insiders' Report
Date:Nov 25, 2003
Previous Article:Gradual orders improvement in 2004, says new Cap-Spending Survey.
Next Article:Association president meets members.

Related Articles
Logan Now Chairs AMT.
Beck Succeeds Woleben as AMT Chair. Winch, Rhoads are Vice-Chairmen.
AMT selects Winch, other officers.
Appointments. (People & Places).
Rhoades takes gavel at AMT. (Trade Association At 100 Years).
AMT charts new course for beleaguered industry. (News & Analysis).
Wes-Tech restructures under new ownership.
Burns named AMT chairman.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |