Water hazards - the lowdown.
R26-1 Relief for Ball in Water Hazard states that if you and your playing partner(s) agree that the ball went into the water hazard, it is counted as being in the hazard, even if you can't find it.
You then have three options, all of which incur a one-shot penalty. You can: 1. Proceed under the stroKe and distance rule by playing a ball as near as possible to the spot from which the original ball was last played, or 2. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, Keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped.
In other words, the flag, the point at which the ball entered the hazard and the place where you drop your ball are all in a straight line - there is no limit as to how far bacK you can go. This method applies to all water hazards marKed with yellow posts or lines.
3. If your ball enters a lateral water hazard (marKed with red posts or lines) you do not need to Keep the hazard between your ball and the flag (as is the case with a yellow-marKed water hazard).
You drop the ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of (i) the point where the original ball entered the hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.
You may lift and clean or substitute a ball.
So what's the difference between a water hazard and a lateral water hazard on a golf course? A water hazard is any sea, laKe, pond, river, ditch, surface drainage ditch or other open water course (whether or not containing water) or similar.
A lateral water hazard is a water hazard deemed by the Committee to be impracticable to drop a ball behind.
|Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback|
|Publication:||Huddersfield Daily Examiner (Huddersfield, England)|
|Date:||Dec 7, 2013|
|Previous Article:||Ron bags Examiner prize.|
|Next Article:||NOT A WORRY; Robins resigned to dealing with speculation.|