Printer Friendly

Warwick Prize for Writing shortlist is announced.


The Warwick Prize for Writing, a new GBP50,000 literature prize to be awarded biennially, has announced its shortlist for 2009.

The winner of the international award, for a work of literature of any genre in English, will be announced on 24 February and will be given the opportunity to take up a short placement at the University of Warwick.

The theme for this year's award is complexity and the shortlist is comprised of Montano's Malady by Spanish writer Enrique Vila-Matas, which has been translated by Jonathan Dunne (who will receive 30% of the prize money if the novel wins the award); Mad, Bad, and Sad: A History of Women and the Mind Doctors from 1800, written by a Polish-born novelist, Lisa Appignanesi; The Art of Political Murder: Who Killed Bishop Gerardi? by American novelist Francisco Goldman; Reinventing the Sacred: A New View of Science, Reason, and Religion by US theoretical biologist Stuart Kauffman; The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of Disaster Capitalism by Canadian journalist and author Naomi Klein; and The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century by US music critic Alex Ross.

The panel of five judges is chaired by writer China Mieville who is joined by fellow panellists; Professor Ian Stewart, Professor of Mathematics at the University of Warwick (the Prize Management Group); author Maureen Freely; journalist Maya Jaggi; and literary blogger Stephen Mitchelmore.
COPYRIGHT 2009 Normans Media Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:M2 Best Books
Date:Jan 23, 2009
Previous Article:Sales of Barack Obama: The Movement for Change exceed expectations.
Next Article:Finalists of the National Book Critics Circle Award are announced.

Related Articles
Longlist for 2007 Orange Broadband prize released.
Shortlist announced for Orange Broadband Award for New Writers.
Shortlist for Mind book of the year award announced.
Shortlist announced for Caine Prize 2007.
Frank O'Connor shortlist announced.
Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction shortlist announced.
Dylan Thomas Prize shortlist is revealed.
John Llewellyn Rhys Prize shortlist is declared.
Longlist announced for Warwick Prize.
Naomi wins pounds 50k book prize; LITERATURE.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |