Printer Friendly

Walter Mosley selected as Mystery Writers of America's 2016 Grand Master.

M2 EQUITYBITES-November 24, 2015-Walter Mosley selected as Mystery Writers of America's 2016 Grand Master


Mystery Writers of America (MWA) announced on Monday that crime writer Walter Mosley will presented with the Grand Master Award at the 70th Annual Edgar Awards Banquet on 28 April 2016.

The Grand Master Award was established to acknowledge important contributions to mystery writing and represents the pinnacle of achievement in this genre. The award is made in recognition of the author's body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality.

Mosley is said to be of the most acclaimed and prolific crime writers of our time and has published over forty novels. His titles include the Easy Rawlins series, which begin with Devil in a Blue Dress, which was made into a film starring Denzel Washington. Mosley has also written three other series, featuring Fearless Jones, Leonid McGill, and Socrates Fortlaw, as well as science fiction, non-fiction, social criticism, young adult fiction, plays, graphic novels and many short stories.

MWA also declared that two Raven Awards, which recognise outstanding achievement in mystery writing, will be awarded to Margaret Kinsman and Sisters in Crime.

Kinsman served as executive editor of Clues: A Journal of Detection, a US scholarly journal dedicated to the mystery, from 2004 to 2011. She has also published extensively on other American crime writers.

Sisters in Crime is a group of female mystery who reportedly came together to promote the ongoing advancement, recognition and professional development of women crime writers. The initial steering committee members included mystery writers such as Charlotte MacLeod, Kate Mattes, Betty Francis, Dorothy Salisbury Davis, Sara Paretsky, Nancy Pickard and Susan Dunlap.

In addition, MWA will honour Janet A. Rudolph with the Ellery Queen Award, which was established in 1983 to honor "outstanding writing teams and outstanding people in the mystery-publishing industry."

Rudolph is the director of Mystery Readers International, which was originally started as a newsletter to update mystery fans on fun events. She is also editor of the Mystery Readers Journal, as well as teaching mystery fiction and writing columns for several mystery periodicals.

((Comments on this story may be sent to

COPYRIGHT 2015 Normans Media Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:M2 EquityBites (EQB)
Date:Nov 24, 2015
Previous Article:UK government to spend additional GBP6bn per year on NHS.
Next Article:Ninlaro gains US FDA approval for treatment of multiple myeloma.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters