Printer Friendly

WIMG announces leadership award finalists.

Women in Municipal Government (WIMG) will announce the winner of its new leadership award during the Congress of Cities in Charlotte, N.C.

Four finalists will be honored and the winner will be named at the WIMG annual membership luncheon, "A Taste of Charlotte," on Friday, December 9, from 12:30 to 2:00 p.m.

The leadership award, given for the first time this year, will be presented to a female elected official from an NLC member city.

WIMG launched the new program to showcase and honor the achievements of women in local leadership. The sponsors of the award are General Motors Corporation and ICMA Retirement Corporation.

The finalists include: Marilee Chinnici-Zuercher, mayor, Dublin, Ohio; Ingrid Lindemann, former councilwoman, Aurora, Colo.; Debbie Pilch, councilwoman, Greeley, Colo.; Hazelle Rogers, commissioner, Lauderdale Lakes, Fla.; Jennifer Stultz, mayor, Gastonia, N.C.; and Dr. Beatrice Thompson, councilwoman, Anderson, S.C.

Honorary chairs for the award program are former WIMG presidents JoAnn Thomas, former councilwoman, Florence, Ala., and Mamye BaCote, delegate, Virginia General Assembly.

Guest judges include: Janet Corcoran, president, Public Education Needs Civic Involvement In Learning; Erlinda Cortez Dimas, senior vice president, Siebert, Brandford Shank & Co.; Helen Kawagoe, city clerk, Carson, Calif., and WIMG board member; Preston V. Lee Jr., director, industry relations, Freddie Mac; Marie Lopez Rogers, councilwoman, Avondale, Ariz., and WIMG immediate past president; S. Floyd Mori, director, public policy, Japanese American Citizens League; Joyce Streator, councilwoman, Pasadena, Calif., and WIMG Board Member; and Matthew Vadum, Supreme Court and housing reporter, The Bond Buyer.

Elizabeth Edwards will be the keynote speaker at this event.

WIMG officers include Leanna Mirsky, commissioner, Lauderhill, Fla. (president); Kay Senter, councilwoman, Morristown, Tenn. (first vice president); M. Margaret Bates, commissioner, Lauderhill, Fla. (second vice president); and Susan Shoemaker, councilwoman, Pontiac, 'Mich. (communications officer).

Tickets for the luncheon may be purchased on-site at the NLC Congress of Cities registration desk.

For information about WIMG and membership opportunities, contact NLC staff at (202) 626-3169.

Details: For more information about WIMG and NLC's other constituency groups, visit
COPYRIGHT 2005 National League of Cities
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Women in Municipal Government
Author:Gordon, Mary France
Publication:Nation's Cities Weekly
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Dec 5, 2005
Previous Article:Congress of Cities marks end of NLC governance year.
Next Article:NLC gets tech-savvy with new video annual report.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters