Printer Friendly

United States : Risch, Crapo Welcome Idaho Delegates for US Senate Youth Program.

Idaho Senators Mike Crapo and Jim Risch Wednesday welcomed Idahos delegates to the 56th annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) that will be held March 3-10, 2018, in Washington, D.C. Patricia Swenson of Jerome and Keegan Wolfe of Saint Anthony were chosen from students across Idaho to be part of the 104 student delegation who will attend the programs annual Washington Week.

Patricia Swenson currently attends Jerome Ridge High School where she has served in student government all four years of her study there and is currently senior class representative. She also serves as president of the National Honor Society, and Young Politicians of Jerome. Patricia is involved in other activities and sports including the swim and water polo teams and the speech team. She plans to attend college and study health care administration, later pursuing a career as a physicians assistant.

Keegan Wolfe is a senior at Madison High School in Rexburg where he has served previously as Student Body President and is currently the public relations specialist for the student body. He is captain of the Madison Highs student debate team and is the Idaho state champion for impromptu speaking. Keegan is an Eagle Scout and plans to serve a two-year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints before enrolling at Boise State University.

Inspired ideas often come from bright minds tackling challenges from a unique perspective, said Crapo. As we confront complicated issues, inspiring our youth to become engaged citizens and leaders will bring lasting solutions that can strengthen and preserve our nation.

The bright young Idahoans who were selected to represent our state are very deserving of this distinction, said Risch. Patricias and Keegens leadership at their respective high schools and in their communities is admirable and reflects the spirit of our great state. Im proud of their hard work and look forward to welcoming them to Washington, D.C.

In addition to Patricia and Keegan, two alternate delegates have also been selected. They are Andrew Hilty of Nampa who attends Nampa Christian High School and Anna Holcomb of Payette, who attends Payette High School.

During their week in the nations capital, Patricia and Keegan will have the opportunity to attend meetings and briefings with Senators and congressional staff, the President, a Justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies, an Ambassador to the United States and top members of the national media. They will also tour many of the national monuments and several of Washingtons famous museums.

In addition to the experience in our nations capital, each of the delegates will receive a $10,000 college scholarship. The scholarship and program week in Washington, D.C., are made possible through a grant from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. All transportation, meals and accommodations are provided. No government funds are utilized for the program.

[c] 2018 Al Bawaba ( Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2018 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mena Report
Geographic Code:1U8ID
Date:Mar 9, 2018
Previous Article:Ireland : Class of 2017: 144 New Frontiers graduates gather for annual networking event.
Next Article:United States : Roberts Statement on Presidents Tariff Announcement.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters