Printer Friendly

United States : Red Hat Adds Common Criteria Security Certification for Red Hat Enterprise Linux.

Red Hat, Inc. the world's leading provider of open source solutions, today announced that Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.1, the worlds leading enterprise Linux platform, has achieved an additional Common Criteria Certification. Enhancing the existing Evaluation Assurance Level 4+ certification announced in October 2016, this certification was under the General-Purpose Operating System Protection Profile (OSPP) 3.9. Red Hat Enterprise Linux was the first operating system to be Common Criteria-certified with Linux Container Framework Support, underscoring Red Hats commitment to delivering hardened and more secure IT innovations like Linux containers. Military, national security, and other highly-sensitive datacenter environments require a significant commitment to security and stringent compliance standards, a commitment that Red Hat strives to meet with the worlds leading enterprise Linux platform.


Common Criteria is an internationally recognized set of standards used by governments and commercial organizations to assess the security and assurance of technology products. OSPP 3.9 defines security requirements for operating systems deployed in security-sensitive or critical systems, such as national security, healthcare, public utilities, and telecommunications.

The OSPP 3.9 certification adds to Red Hat Enterprise Linuxs security profile.

Common Criteria certification attests the operating system and the hardware platform underneath. The following hardware platforms were successfully evaluated as part of this certification: Dell EMC Dell EMC PowerEdge R530, R630, R730, R730xd, R920, and R930; Dell EMC PowerEdge T430 and T630; Dell EMC PowerEdge M630 and M830; Dell EMC PowerEdge FC430, FC630 and FC830; Dell EMC PowerEdge C6320; Dell Precision Rack 7910 Workstation.

Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE)

HPE Servers based on x86 64-bit Intel Xeon processors: HPE ProLiant ML G7, Gen8, Gen9 Servers; HPE ProLiant DL G7, Gen8, Gen9 Servers; HPE ProLiant BL G7, Gen8, Gen9 Servers; HPE ProLiant SL G7, Gen8, Gen9 Servers; HPE Servers based on AMD64 processors:; HPE ProLiant ML G7, Gen8 Servers; HPE ProLiant DL G7, Gen8 Servers.


IBM System p based on Power8 processors providing execution environments with PowerVM: Big Endian with PowerVM: Tuleta BE model number - Power 835 model 8286-41A; Little Endian with Red Hat Virtualization for Power 3.6: Power 835 model 8284-22A; IBM System z based on z/Architecture processors: zEnterprise EC12 (zEC12); zEnterprise BC12 (zBC12); zEnterprise 196 (z196); zEnterprise 114 (z114); Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.1 was certified by BSI, Germany's Federal Office for Information Security. To facilitate this certification, Red Hat worked with atsec information security corporation, accredited in Germany, Italy, Sweden and the U.S., which tested and validated the security, performance, and reliability of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.1 against OSPP 3.9.

[c] 2017 Al Bawaba ( Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2017 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2017 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mena Report
Date:Dec 14, 2017
Previous Article:United States : Murphy Statement After Congress Passes Two-week Spending Bill.
Next Article:United States : Murphy Introduces 21st Century Buy American Act.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters