Printer Friendly

United States : Gov. Rick Snyder makes appointment, reappointments to the Michigan Commission on Services to the Aging.

Gov. Rick Snyder announced the appointment of Milton (Jerry) Doucette of Au Train and the reappointments of Dona Wishart of Gaylord, Laura Kathleen LaTosch of Ferndale, Peter Lichtenberg of Farmington, and Linda Strohl of Sawyer to the Michigan Commission on Services to the Aging.

The commission is a 15-member body appointed by the Governor to offer oversight on the administration of state programs and priorities affecting aging Michiganders. A majority of the members must be at least 60 years of age and no more than eight may be from the same political party.

I thank these individuals for their willingness to serve on this commission, Snyder said. Their perspectives and input will ensure aging Michiganders are represented and their voices are heard.


Doucette is an Alger County commissioner, first elected into office in 2008, and previously worked at the Presque Isle Power Plant for more than 40 years before retiring. He will represent Democrats and fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Margot Roedel.


Wishart is the executive director of the Otsego County Commission on Aging and previously worked for the Gaylord Area Convention and Tourism Bureau and the Community Services Network. Wishart holds a bachelors degree in education from Michigan State University. She will continue to represent Republicans.

LaTosch is the owner and principal consultant for LaTosch Consulting, a diversity and inclusion consulting group, and currently serves on the LGBT Older Adult Coalition, Citizens for a Fair Ferndale and the Ferndale Education Foundation. LaTosch holds a bachelors degree in English and anthropology from Albion College and a masters degree in social work, specializing in mental health and chemical dependency from Eastern Michigan University. She will continue to represent Democrats.

Lichtenberg is the director of the Institute of Gerontology and the Merrill Palmer Skillman Institute. He is a professor of psychology at Wayne State University and holds a bachelors degree from Washington University and a masters degree and doctorate in psychology from Purdue University. He will continue to represent Democrats.

Strohl is the executive director for Senior Nutrition Services, Region IV and holds a bachelors degree in sociology from Smith College at the University of Illinois. She will continue to represent Independents.

Doucette will serve the remainder of a three-year term expiring July 28, 2020. Wishart, LaTosch, Lichtenberg and Strohl will serve three-years term expiring July 28, 2021. Wishart also will serve as chair for a term expiring at the pleasure of the Governor. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

[c] 2018 Al Bawaba ( Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2018 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mena Report
Date:Jul 6, 2018
Previous Article:United States : SEC Charges Credit Suisse With FCPA Violations.
Next Article:Thailand : Additional Australian support to the Thailand cave rescue.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters