Printer Friendly

UAE club striker Khalil voted best player of last season.

Dubai: UAE and Al Ahli club striker Faisal Khalil won the Shaikh Majid Bin Mohammad Al Maktoum Award as the best footballer in the UAE last season. Faisal will be honoured with other winners on September 7 in a big ceremony.

This was announced in Dubai sports channel, the organisers of the Award on Friday night. Faisal got 48% of the votes of the supporters and the technical committee which include sport writers and commentators.

Faisal will receive a Dh200,000 prize money and a luxury car.

The Shaikh Majid Bin Mohammad Award for the best in the the season 2007-2008 which prize money for all categories reach Dh2 million, included the best foreign player, goalkeeper, promising player, coach, team administrator, referee and club supporters.

Ali Humaid head of the Award's technical committee said that the Shaikh Majid Award will be a big boost for footballers in the coming seasons.

"All football players Emirati or foreigners will double their efforts in the coming seasons to clinch the Award. The football family (players, coaches, administrators, supporters) will try to give their best and behave in a good manner due to the fact that good behaviour play big part in selection," he said.

Faisal win as the best footballer came according to the technical committee votes, he got 4% of the supporters votes and 44% from the committee.

The best foreign players Award went to Al Shaab striker Mehrzad Madanchi who will join Al Nasr in the coming season, he got 64% of the votes and will receive Dh 200,000.

Obaid Al Taweela of Al Ahli won the best goalkeeper Award with 80%, he will get Dh 150,000. Al Taweela teammate Esmail Al Hammady won the best promising player Award, he got 83% and will receive Dh150,000. Brazilian coach Toninho Cerezo who led Al Shabab to win the league title, won the best coach Award with 88%, he will receive Dh150,000. Obaid Ali Hasan of Al Shabab won the best administrator Award with 69%, he will receive Dh 150,000.

UAE Fifa referee Mohammad Omar was selected the best referee of last season with 74%. he will, get Dh150,000. Sharjah supporters won the Award for best supporters with 79%, they will receive Dh 200,000.

The technical committee decided to cancel the best Emirati coach Award, due to no Emirati coaches were training first division clubs last season.

The most achievement for last season went to the UAE beach soccer team for winning the Asian title and qualified for the world cup finals and to Al Jazira club for winning the GCC clubs title. Shaikh Majid himself will decide about the winner of this Award.


Best Player: Faisal Khalil (Al Ahli club), will receive Dh 200,000 and a deluxe car.

Best foreign player: Mehrzad Madanchi (Al Shaab club), Dh 200,000.

Best goalkeeper: Obaid Al Taweela (Al Ahli club), Dh 150,000.

Best promising player: Esmail Al Hammady (Al Ahli club), Dh 150,000.

Best coach: Toninho Cerezo (Al Shabab club), Dh 150,000.

Best administrator: Obaid Ali Hasan (Al Shabab club), Dh 150,000.

Best Referee: Mohammad Omar, Dh 150,000

Best supporters: Sharjah club, Dh 200,000.

The best achievement in the season 2007-2008: Either UAE beach soccer team winning Asian title and qualifying for the World cup Finals or the Al Jazira club winning the GCC clubs title. The winner will get Dh 200,000.

A[umlaut] Al Nisr Publishing LLC 2007. All rights reserved.

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2008 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Gulf News (United Arab Emirates)
Geographic Code:7UNIT
Date:Jul 6, 2008
Previous Article:LG Electronics expects growing demand for simpler cellphones.
Next Article:Reliance Money in Saudi Arabia joint venture.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters