Printer Friendly

Two candidates register for Otjiwarongo Constituency by-election.

An independent candidate and a member of the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) have so far registered with the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) as candidates to contest the Otjiwarongo Regional Constituency by-election set for 09 March 2020.

The ECN's Otjiwarongo supplementary registration supervisor, Jafet Karamata on Monday told Nampa in an interview that the two are 36-year-old Erastus Mbumba and the 31-year-old Asariel !Hao-Khoe Ilonga of the PDM.

They were both registered with the ECN on Monday morning, Karamata said.

The ECN official further explained that the registration process which started on 14 January 2020, is expected to end on Wednesday, 29 January this year.

'This process allows any interested political party member or individuals who wants to contest in the by-election to registered with the ECN first, as per the law,' he said.

Karamata said the applicants should fill in the ECN Nomination Form 21 in order for their applications to be considered in the by-election.

The form has to be accompanied with a registration fee of 2 500 dollars, he said.

Kamarata added that for the independent candidates, it is a must for them to submit a list of 150 names of illegible voters who are from the Otjiwarongo Constituency for their applications to be successful.

The by-election was necessitated by the death of Otjiwarongo Constituency Councillor Julius Neumbo who died in a road accident on 10 December 2019.

COPYRIGHT 2020 Knowledge Bylanes
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2020 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:The Namibia Press Agency NAMPA (Windhoek, Namibia)
Date:Jan 27, 2020
Previous Article:MLIRC calls on employers to report vacancies on NIEIS portal.
Next Article:Katjavivi calls for unity among NUST staff.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters