Printer Friendly

TwitchTV Nominated for Webby Award in Games-Related Category.

TwitchTV Cements Its Position as a Leader in Live Streaming Gaming Content

SAN FRANCISCO -- TwitchTV, the world's best video game broadcasting network, was nominated for the prestigious 16th annual Webby Awards in the "games-related" category. TwitchTV is the only streaming site nominated for an award, cementing its position at the forefront of the revolution in gaming culture and live streaming content. The full list of nominees in the category can be viewed at and winners will be announced on May 21.

"TwitchTV is dedicated to providing the best possible service to the online video gaming community, and we are thrilled to be nominated for this award," said Emmett Shear, CEO of TwitchTV. "The massive growth of TwitchTV demonstrates the huge appetite for alternative ways of viewing, playing and celebrating games, and we are delighted that the Webby Awards have recognized our place at the heart of online gaming culture."

While Academy judges like Twitter Co-founder Biz Stone, Musician David Bowie and Instagram Founder Kevin Systrom will select the Webby winners, starting today millions of people will also help decide who takes home a coveted Webby by voting in The Webby People's Voice Awards. The public has until April 26 to vote at:

About TwitchTV

TwitchTV is the world's leading video game broadcasting network. Every month, 16 million gamers gather to watch and interact with each other and with the games they love. TwitchTV's proprietary video delivery platform and infrastructure form the backbone of a distribution network for video game broadcasters including pro players, tournaments, leagues, developers and gaming media organizations. TwitchTV is leading a revolution in gaming culture, turning gameplay into an immersive media experience. Learn more at

About The Webby Awards

Hailed as the "Internet's highest honor" by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising & media, online film & video, and mobile & apps. Established in 1996, The 16th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Yahoo!, Vitamin T, MLB Advanced Media, Rackspace Hosting, JWT, The Atom Group, Financial Times, BuzzFeed, PricewaterhouseCoopers, and Guardian News and Media.
COPYRIGHT 2012 Business Wire
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Business Wire
Geographic Code:1U9CA
Date:Apr 12, 2012
Previous Article:TeleTech Awarded Contract Expansion with Fortune 500 Communications Company.
Next Article:BioTime Board of Directors Forms Science and Technology Committee.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters