Printer Friendly

Trio make shortlist for Caf award.

The Confederation of African Football (Caf) on Monday released the final nominees for the upcoming Aiteo Caf Awards 2017.The ceremony, slated to be held in Accra, Ghana on January 4, 2018 has three nominees from seven categories.Egypt and Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah tops the list of player of the year nominees for his exploits in the world cup qualifiers.

The former Chelsea man played a significant role in the Pharaohs qualification to Russia 2018 world cup for the first time since 1990. Leicester City forward Riyad Mahrez won the 2016 gong. The winners will be decided by votes from the head coaches and Technical Directors of the National football associations affiliated to the African governing body.

African Player of the YearMohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Dortmund), Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool) Women's Player of the YearAsisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Dalian Quanjian), Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa and UWC Ladies), Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon and CSKA Moscow)Youth Player of the YearKrepin Diatta (Senegal and Sarpsborg), Patson Daka (Zambia and Liefering), Salam Giddou (Mali and Guidars)Coach of the YearGernot Rohr (Nigeria), Hector Cuper (Egypt), L'Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)Club of the YearAl Ahly, TP Mazembe, Wydad Athletic ClubNational Team of the YearCameroon, Egypt, NigeriaWomen's National Team of the YearGhana U-20, Nigeria U-20, South Africa

COPYRIGHT 2017 Asianet-Pakistan
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2017 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Daily Nation, Kenya (Nairobi, Kenya)
Geographic Code:7EGYP
Date:Dec 18, 2017
Previous Article:Government rolls out Sh22 million for IDPs compensation in Isiolo.
Next Article:Victorious Harambee Stars eye 2019 Afcon.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters