Printer Friendly

Transition to the new century.

The Congo

The Congo originally was the name of the area in central Africa on both sides of the Congo River. The territory to the east and south of the river came under Belgian control in 1885 and officially became known as the Belgian Congo in 1908. Independence came in 1960, and the country was renamed Zaire later in the decade.

The territory on the west of the river was called the French Congo. It achieved independence from France in 1960 and is now known as The People's Republic of the Congo. Brazzaville is its capital.

Fabian Society

The Fabian Society was a political society founded in 1884. The membership consisted primarily of middle class intellectuals who lived around London. The Fabian Society advocated gradual social reform. George Bernard Shaw was a leading member.


The Wessex in Thomas Hardy's novels and poems is the thinly disguised area around Dorchester, Dorset, and the West Country where Hardy was born and lived. The area was the fictional setting in his novels and poems known as "Wessex."

COPYRIGHT 1992 HarperCollins Publishers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1992 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Literary Names and Terms: People and Places; African Congo; Fabian Society; "Wessex" area of England
Author:McCoy, Kathleen; Harlan, Judith
Publication:English Literature from 1785
Article Type:Reference Source
Date:Jan 1, 1992
Previous Article:The twentieth century (1897 to present).
Next Article:Poetry of World War I.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |