Printer Friendly

Tim Giago.

Tim Giago, who retired earlier this year as editor and publisher of Native Sun News, has been honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award from a professional association he helped start.

Giago was a cofounder in 1983 of the Native American Press Association, later renamed the Native American Journalists Association (NAJA). He was the organization's first president.

The NAJA gave the award to Giago, who since 1981 has founded three Indian newspapers, including The Lakota Times, the first successful Indian-owned weekly newspaper in the United States.

"I think the thing I will remember the most is the number of Native American journalists I trained at my newspapers, who eventually went on to radio, magazines and to other newspapers," he said.

COPYRIGHT 2011 Harvard University, Nieman Foundation
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Nieman Reports
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Sep 22, 2011
Previous Article:Dorothy Wickenden.
Next Article:Susan E. Reed.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters