Printer Friendly

Three municipal leagues present awards for outstanding achievements.

State leagues in Mississippi, New York and Minnesota gave out honors last month for outstanding achievements that improved the lives of citizens.


Seven Mississippi municipalities were presented with 2009 Mississippi Municipal League Excellence Awards at the league's annual conference in July.

Congratulations to the following cities and towns for meeting the challenges of municipal government through innovative problem solving, excellence in management, citizen participation and striving to provide a higher level of service to their residents.

Best Overall Award:

* Town of Woodland, The Little Town that Can: Monthly Special Event Program

City Spirit:

* Town of Tishomingo, The 100 Trees for the Next 100 Years program

* City of Madison, The Swing into Summer special events series

Planning and Economic Development:

* Town of Plantersville, The Little Town that Could strategic plan

* City of Meridian, The Meridian Greening program

Public Safety:

* Town of Caledonia, The Skateboard Park Construction project

* City of Picayune, The 911 Cell Phone Program for Senior Citizens, Domestic Abuse Victims and Disabled Citizens

Details: For more information, contact Shari Veazey, deputy director, Mississippi Municipal League, at

New York

Six New York municipalities were honored with 2009 Local Government Achievement Awards at the New York Conference of Mayors and Municipal Officials' annual conference last month.

Congratulations to the following cities and towns for initiating innovative economic development, public works, public management and administration and public safety programs.

Economic Development:

* The City of Hornell's BOCES Homebuilding Partnership replaces blighted homes with new homes, constructed by BOCES' building trade students. Profits from the projects are reinvested into similar projects in subsequent years.

Public Works:

* The City of Ithaca's Energy Savings Performance Contract helps overcome limited funds available for facility improvements, while enhancing energy efficiency in city-owned facilities and meeting greenhouse gas reduction goals.

* The Village of Owego's Sewer Rehabilitation Project uses new technology to reduce the inflow/infiltration into the collection system and assisted the village in meeting reduction requirements by the Chesapeake Bay Tributary Program for nitrogen and phosphorus.

Public Management and Administration:

* The City of Binghamton's Restore NY Project Team: Neighborhood Revitalization Through Innovative Measures applies Restore NY grants to the redevelopment of 70 vacant residential properties that were slated for demolition.

* The Village of Amityville's Construction of "Green" Municipal Buildings project constructed a U.S. Green Building Council's Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) gold certified building to house the village's police department, justice court and administration offices.

Public Safety:

* The Village of East Syracuse's Enhanced Rental Registration and Inspection Program requires owners of rental properties to register with the village so that officials can more easily respond in the case of an emergency and ensure that inspections meet the minimum standards established by the New York State Property Maintenance Code.

Details: For more information about these innovation programs, contact Lisa Eating, executive assistant, New York State Conference of Mayors at


Congratulations to four Minnesota cities and two Minnesota municipal leaders for being recognized at the 2009 League of Minnesota Cities' annual conference last month for outstanding achievements.

City of Excellence Award:

* The City of Chatfield's Hilltop Estates Improvement Project developed an innovative funding solution to construct a new elementary school for the community.

* The Village of St. Anthony's Water Reuse Facility Project analyzed the feasibility of capturing and reusing water runoff from the city campus and local streets, which would reduce water pollutants and save the city $25,000 per year.

* The City of Roseville's Metro I-Net Group is a consortium of entities that provide information technology services. The partnership has led to greater economies of scale and increased functionality.

City. of Excellence Award for Sustainability and Smart Energy Use:

* The City of Elk River's Project Conserve is a partnership between the city, Elk River Municipal Utilities and CenterPoint that encourages residences to reduce their consumption of electricity, natural gas, water, gasoline and solid waste.

C.C. Ludwig Award:

* The Honorable Mark Voxland, mayor of the City of Moorhead, was recognized for leading Moorhead's Downtown Revitalization program and for working to recover from flooding in the Fargo-Moorhead area.

* The Honorable Ronald H. Jabs, former mayor of the City of Jordan, was recognized for consistently promoting progress, development, and growth in his city, and for playing a key role in the construction of a state-of-the-art wastewater and water treatment plant.

Details: For more information about these award winners, contact Don Reeder, public affairs manager, League of Minnesota Cities at
COPYRIGHT 2009 National League of Cities
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:National League of Cities
Author:Malakoff, Lara
Publication:Nation's Cities Weekly
Geographic Code:1U4MN
Date:Aug 10, 2009
Previous Article:New directions for neighborhood democracy.
Next Article:September is National Preparedness Month.

Related Articles
30 Communities Named All-America City Finalists.
Oklahoma Municipal League recognizes leading cities and officials with award program.
Association of Washington Cities.
Minnesota recognizes 2004 City Achievement Award Winners.
NLC, CH2M HILL unveil new name for award.
Hunt named city leader of the year.
City projects recognized by Alabama League of Municipalities.
South Carolina presents Achievement Awards.
Alabama League of Municipalities recognizes four city projects.
South Carolina and New Mexico municipal leagues present awards for outstanding achievements.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters