They think it's all over - not yet it isn't.
The players - and the ref - thought they had won their cup-tie on the away goals rule.
Visitors Witney had already showered, changed and got back on their team coach.
But the ref had got it wrong - it wasn't all over.
Witney and Clevedon drew 1-1 in both legs of their cup tie.
The second leg finished 2-2 after extra time and the ref gave the match to the away team.
But an official from the Dorset FA told him that goals scored in extra time didn't count double.
So they trooped back into the deserted stadium for the penalty decider.
And Witney still won - 4-2 on penalties.
|Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback|
|Publication:||Daily Record (Glasgow, Scotland)|
|Date:||Oct 31, 1996|
|Previous Article:||WARDER CLEARED OVER CELL DEATH; Killer hatched suicide plan.|
|Next Article:||Son on death blaze charge.|