Printer Friendly

The thirty-second annual ATWS meeting in Denver, Colorado.

The Thirty-Second Annual Meeting of the Association of Third World Studies (ATWS) was held at the Metropolitan State University of Denver, October 16-18, 2014. The conclave featured 75 attendees from around the world who participated in 16 panels and round tables that focused on the theme, "The Coming Decade: The Role of Leadership, Institutions and Culture in Latin America, Africa, Asia, and the Middle East.

The conference was co-sponsored by ATWS, Metropolitan State University of Denver, Georgia Southwestern State University, and Louisiana State University Shreveport.

Special thanks and appreciation are extended to the following individuals and academic entities: Dr. Norman Provizer, Metropolitan State University of Denver, Dr. Lisa Saye, The Policy Analysis Institute; Mrs. Trish McEvoy, and student workers in the Certification Office at Millersville University Millersville University, Dr. William Pederson, Louisiana State University Shreveport; The Office of the President and Office of International Studies at Metropolitan State University of Denver; and The Departments of Political Science, Africana Studies, and Chicana Studies at Metropolitan State University of Denver.

The keynote address, "The Coming Decade," was presented by Ved Nanda, John Evans Distinquished University Professor: Director of the Ved Nanda Center for the Study of Comparative and International Law; University of Denver Sturm College of Law.

Co-winners of the Lawrence Dunbar Reddick Memorial Scholarship Award were Doyin Coker-Kolo, Millersville University, and William K. Darley, University of Toledo, for their superlative article, "The Role of African Universities in a Changing World," Journal of Third World Studies, Volume 30, No. 1 (Spring, 2013) Cecil B. Currey ATWS Book Length Publications Award winner was Michael J. Hathaway, Simon Fraser University, for his outstanding study, Environmental Winds; Making the Global in Southwest Asia, published by University of California Press in 2013. The 2014 Toyin Falola ATWS Africa Book Award winner was Cati Coe, Rutgers University, Camden Campus, for her excellent study, The Scattered Family: Parenting, African Migrants, and Global Inequality, published by the University of Chicago Press in 2014.

Newly elected ATWS officers are: Jyotirmaya Tripathy, Indian Institute of Technology, Vice-President-President-Elect; and Kaylan Chatterjee, Amity University, Executive Council Position #1.

COPYRIGHT 2015 Association of Third World Studies, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Journal of Third World Studies
Date:Mar 22, 2015
Previous Article:New media and information: for democratization and management.
Next Article:Foreword.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters