Printer Friendly

The ninth annual Arkansas Business Hall of Fame: Classics 2007.

On February 9, 2007, the Sam M. Walton College of Business at the University of Arkansas will host the ninth annual Arkansas Business Hall of Fame.

Among Arkansas' prolific business community, several classics stand out. Their accomplishments have endured. Their old-fashioned hard work, ethics and perseverance have yielded organizations that stand the test of time. Today, their businesses serve Arkansas, the nation and the world--with proven products and services that are best in their fields. These vintage business leaders bring to their professions and communities an enduring quality of a time past with foresight for the future.

We celebrate these Arkansas' Classics:


* The late Delbert E. Allen Sr., chairman, Allen Canning Company, Siloam Springs, Ark.

* Thelma L. Joshua and the late Ernest P. Joshua Sr., founders, J.M. Products Inc., Little Rock, Ark.

* The late Kenneth Pat Wilson, chairman and CEO, First Arkansas BancShares, Inc., Jacksonville, Ark.

* Albert R. Yarnell, chairman, Yarnell Ice Cream Co., Searcy, Ark.

Walton College Dean Dan L. Worrell said: "The Arkansas economy has been blessed with a strong base of business talent. The Arkansas Business Hall of Fame was founded in 1999 to highlight the important and lasting contributions of its talented business leaders. We feel it is important to the state's future business leaders to honor and perpetuate these inductees' names and accomplishments."

The ninth annual Arkansas Business Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock. The Arkansas Business Hall of Fame is housed permanently in the atrium of the Donald W. Reynolds Center for Enterprise Development at the Walton College on the Fayetteville campus.


The selection process was chaired by Walton College alumnus and Arkansas native Tommy Boyer, chief executive officer of Micro Images, Amarillo, Texas. A nominating committee of 17 business leaders encouraged people throughout the state and beyond to make nominations, and then a selection committee of 12 business and community leaders reviewed the nominations and chose the inductees. Criteria for selection included: the significance of the impact made as a business leader, the concern demonstrated for improving the community, and the display of ethics in all business dealings. In addition, the inductee must be over the age of 60.




Former Inductees into the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame


William Dillard, Sr.

Charles H. Murphy, Jr.

Jackson T. Stephens

Sam M. Walton


Joe T. Ford

Harvey Jones

Donald W. Reynolds

Don J. Tyson


Colonel Thomas H. Barton

William E. Darby

J.B. and Johnelle Hunt

John H. Johnson


Roland S. Boreham, Jr.

Sheridan Garrison

Gene George

Walter V. Smiley


Richard E. Bell

David D. Glass

Robert D. Nabholz, Sr.

Louis L. Ramsey, Jr.,


John A. Cooper, Sr.

Frank Lyon, Sr.

Charles D. Morgan

Robert A. Young, Jr.


Dave Grundfest, Sr.

James T. "Red" Hudson

Donald Munro

Edward M. Penick, Sr.


Frank D. Hickingbotham

William F. "Billy" Rector

Doyle W. Rogers, Sr.

Forrest L. Wood
COPYRIGHT 2007 Journal Publishing, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2007 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Arkansas Business
Geographic Code:1U7AR
Date:Jan 29, 2007
Previous Article:Greetings from Dan L. Worrell.
Next Article:2007 Arkansas Business Hall of Fame sponsors (as of January 12, 2007).

Related Articles
The fifth annual: Arkansas Business Hall of Fame.
Agriculture hall of fame to induct five in March. (Agricultural Business).
Business Hall of Fame inductees are selected.
Wilson, Yarnell among Hall of Fame inductees.
Greetings from Dan L. Worrell.
Sports Hall of Fame welcomes 50th class: attracting fans to new museum is Tucker's task.
Celebrating a decade of dreams.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters