Printer Friendly

The William C. Horris YA Debut Award.

The 2011 William C. Morris YA Debut Award winner is The Freak Observer written by Blythe Woolston and published by Carolrhoda Lab, an imprint of Carolrhoda Books, a division of Lerner Publishing Group.

First awarded in 2009, the William C. Morris YA Debut Award honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Four William C. Morris YA Debut Award finalists were named. They are: Crossing the Tracks written by Barbara Stuber (Margaret McElderry Books); Guardian of the Dead, written by Karen Healey (Little, Brown), Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, written by Lish McBride (Henry Holt); and Hush, written by Eishes Chayil (Walker Publishing).

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award is administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), divisions of the American Library Association.

COPYRIGHT 2011 E L Kurdyla Publishing LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:BEST OF THE BEST; The Freak Observer
Publication:Teacher Librarian
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Apr 1, 2011
Previous Article:What on earth?
Next Article:TL moonshots.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters