Printer Friendly

The Vegetarian Resource Group's Ingredient classification scheme/evolution of ingredients.

When The Vegetarian Resource Group's Food Ingredients Guide was first published in 1997, animal sources of stearate compounds used in foods were common. Ingredient suppliers told us so at that time. However, over the past few years, several food ingredients suppliers and manufacturers have told The VRG that a general trend regarding ingredient sources is that whenever possible, non-animal sources are preferred. A major reason for this preference is lack of BSE (bovine spongiform encephalopathy) or avian influenza threats that many consumers associate with animal ingredients.

In 1997, because of stearates, The VRG Food Ingredient Guide initially gave anti-caking agents the "May Be Non-Vegetarian" classification. In light of current information about stearates, The VRG is now changing the classification for anti-caking agents to "Vegan*." The asterisk alerts consumers that the theoretical possibility exists that anti-caking agents calcium or magnesium stearate could be derived from animal sources, but practically speaking, on a commercial scale in 2015 in the United States, we have not found this to be the case. With the possible exception of stearate compounds, all other major anti-caking agents used today are non-animal-derived. Most are derived from petrochemicals and/ or minerals.

The VRG has noticed that these days, many food companies and fast food chains indicate their sources of ingredients in parentheses after the ingredient on a label, especially for ingredients which could have multiple sources. A notable example is "natural flavors." Increasing consumer awareness, along with greater numbers of people asking food companies more questions about their ingredients, contribute to greater corporate transparency. This higher degree of labeling precision was not evident 20 or more years ago.

For the first time, we recently found a label that specifies that the calcium stearate is vegetable-based:

Smarties[R] candy has a vegan statement on its website regarding its source of calcium stearate: http://www.

Subway[R] Canada (but not Subway U.S.) lists calcium stearate in its Honey Oat Bread. Consumer service representatives told us by phone and email that their source is "plant-derived."

More information on ingredients can be found on The Vegetarian Resource Group's website at ingredients.

The contents of this article, our website and our other publications, including Vegetarian Journal, are not intended to provide personal medical advice. Medical advice should be obtained from a qualified health professional. We often depend on product and ingredient information from company statements. It is impossible to be 100% sure about a statement, info can change, people have different views, and mistakes can be made. Please use your best judgement about whether a product is suitable for you. To be sure, do further research


The VRG depends on the generous contributions of our members and supporters to continue our educational projects. Though the world may not become vegetarian in our lifetimes, we realize that we are planning and working for future generations.

* Your will and life insurance policies enable you to protect your family and also to provide a way to give long- lasting support to causes in which you believe. Naming The Vegetarian Resource Group in your will or life insurance policy will enable us to increase our work for vegetarianism.

* One suggested form of bequest is: I give and bequeath to The Vegetarian Resource Group, Baltimore, Maryland, the sum of--dollars (or if stock, property, or insurance policy, please describe).

* To be sure your wishes are carried out, please speak with your attorney specifically about writing the correct information in your will.

By Jeanne Yacoubou, MS, VRG Research Director
COPYRIGHT 2015 Vegetarian Resource Group
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Yacoubou, Jeanne
Publication:Vegetarian Journal
Date:Oct 1, 2015
Previous Article:2015 scholarship winners.
Next Article:How often do Americans eat vegetarian meals? And how many adults in the U.S. are vegetarian? The Vegetarian Resource Group Asks in a 2015 National...

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters