The Tyne Bridge taking shape.
SINCE October 1928 the Tyne Bridge has been a familiar sight to everyone entering and leaving Newcastle over the Tyne.
John Clayson from Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums has taken a look back at the construction of the iconic bridge.
These photographs, which track the creation of the Tyne Bridge over a number of months, belonged to James Geddie who lived from 1879 to 1944.
Geddie was chief assistant engineer on the con-struc-tion of the Tyne Bridge with Dorman, Long & Co Ltd of Middlesbrough.
NOSTALGIA Happy Happy former Toon Roy Page The pictures were taken by employees of James Bacon & Sons of 81 Northumberland Street, Newcastle - a site which today is part of the Marks & Spencer store.
We don't know the names of the photographers who scaled the lofty heights of the Tyne Bridge to join the engineers and the steel erectors.
We can only wonder at their versatility: one day perhaps in the studio, sensitively arranging a portrait for a treasured family album, the next, exposed on high girders above the river, balancing cumbersome camera and tripod to capture another breathtaking image, as one of the world's most recognisable structures appeared in the landscape of Tyneside.
The total cost of the Tyne Bridge including associated road improvements was PS1.2m, of which about one third was for the purchase of land.
the purchase of land.
birthday to birthday to skipper Aitken 66 The Tyne Bridge was offi-cially opened on October 10, 1928, although work was not finally completed until the end of the year. The images here form part of a fantastic 2015 calendar.
Tyne & Wear Archives |& Museums'Tyne Bridge calendar, featuring the images of the construction of the bridge, is available to buy now from all Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums shops including Discovery Museum, the Great North Museum and the Laing Art Gallery, and also online at www.twmuseums.org.ukshop.
Fantastic shots of the Tyne Bridge under construction - and some of the workers - in 1927 and 1928. The pictures |are used courtesy of Tyne and Wear Archive and Museums
From top, a final section of the Tyne Bridge arch is lowered into place in February 1928; just weeks until the |opening, and the Royal opening itself in 1928; the Swing Bridge and the finished Tyne Bridge in the spring of 1929
Above and bottom, the Tyne Bridge arch nears comple-|tion in 1928. Tyne and Wear Archive and Museums