Printer Friendly

The Rainy Season: Three Lives in the New South Africa.


The Rainy Season: Three Lives in the New South Africa

Maggie Messitt

Univ. of Iowa Press


198 pages



Exchanging the Northern Hemisphere for the Southern in October 2003, independent narrative and immersion journalist Messitt relates the story of the Rooiboklaagte community (formerly Shangaan and Sotho homelands) less than a decade after the end of apartheid and South AfricaAEs first democratic election. She spotlights three interconnected lives: Thoko, a middle-aged sangoma (traditional healer) and shebeen queen (owner of a backdoor illegal pub); Dankie, one of oMandelaAEs children,o educated entirely under democratic governance; and Regina, an elderly tapestry weaver and devout Catholic. The Rainy Season is the result of eight years spent observing and interacting with the people of this remote bushveld community. The book is organized into three parts: spring, summer, autumn. ([umlaut] Ringgold, Inc., Portland, OR)

COPYRIGHT 2015 Ringgold, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Article Type:Book review
Date:Jun 1, 2015
Previous Article:Empires on the Waterfront: Japan's Ports and Power, 1858-1899.
Next Article:Finding Your Way With Your Baby: The Emotional Life of Parents and Babies.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters