Printer Friendly

The New York Folklore Society welcomes new board members.

The New York Folklore Society Welcomes New Board Members to its governing body and expresses thanks to those who retired at the close of 2014. Our Society has benefitted from the wise counsel and visions of outgoing President, Gabrielle Hamilton; outgoing Treasurer, Jessica Schein; and board member, Ellen Fladger, who have all served the maximum time allowed by the NYFS bylaws, as well as the service of former board members Puja Sahney, Anna Mule, and Connie Sullivan-Blum. We are indebted to them for steering the Society through some difficult periods.

The organization has emerged stronger and more robust. With 2015, we welcome new board members, Gabrielle Berlinger of New York City, Naomi Sturm of Staten Island, and John Braungard of Latham, NY John will step into the role of Treasurer. Gabrielle Hamilton of the Bronx will continue to serve another two years in the position of "Past President," with Tom van Buren of Westchester County, now President of the Board and Christopher Mule of Brooklyn taking on the added role of Secretary, in addition to his Vice-Presidential duties. This new slate was elected at New York Folklore Society's New York City Gathering and Annual Meeting that took place on Tuesday, March 10, 2015, at Union Hall in Brooklyn.

COPYRIGHT 2014 New York Folklore Society
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2014 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:NYFS News and Notes
Publication:Voices: The Journal of New York Folklore
Date:Sep 22, 2014
Previous Article:Caffe Lena: Inside America's Legendary Folk Music Coffeehouse.
Next Article:Other New York Folklore Society transitions have taken place during the last few months.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |