Printer Friendly

The Governor's Awards for Excellence in Science.

An award was established in 1985 by the Drug Science Foundation to honor specifically an individual or team within the state whose achievements and contributions to science in South Carolina merit special recognition, to promote wider awareness of the quality and extent of scientific activity in South Carolina. Since 1989 the award, named the "Governor's Award for Excellence in Science", has been under the joint sponsorship of the Governor's office, the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education, and the South Carolina Academy of Science. In 1993 these groups were joined by the Dewees Development Corporation and Harbor Watch of Charleston. In 2000 Roche Carolina Inc. and in 2004 MeadWestvaco and Michelin North America joined in sponsorship of the Governor's Awards. Beginning in 1990 two of these awards are given annually with one being for scientific discovery and the other for scientific awareness. The award consists of an honorarium, and a handsomely framed certificate which is presented to the recipient at a special awards ceremony held in the Spring, in conjunction with the South Carolina Academy of Science's annual meeting. A separate award ceremony is held at the Governor's Office in honor of the recipients, usually shortly before or after the SCAS annual meeting.


Candidates should be currently working in South Carolina or have conducted a substantial portion of their work within the state. Contributions may be in any area of science, and may be for service to science through non-formal education in the various media, for exemplary exposition at the college or university level, or as an acknowledgement for significant outstanding formal research. The award may be given to an individual or a team. If the award is made to a team, the honorarium will be distributed equally.


The chair of the 2005 Award Selection Committee is Don Jordan University of South Carolina, Columbia. Nominations for the award should be sent to Dr. Don M. Jordan, Center for Science Education, College of Science & Math, Sumwalt Room 323, University of South Carolina, Columbia SC 29208, Email: Deadline for receipt of nominations is December 15, 2004. An official nomination form is included in this brochure. Additional forms may be photocopied or obtained by request.
COPYRIGHT 2005 South Carolina Academy of Science
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Bulletin of the South Carolina Academy of Science
Date:Jan 1, 2005
Previous Article:Randolph M. Brooks Dreher High School, Columbia, SC.
Next Article:Governor's award recipients.

Related Articles
Governor's Awards for Excellence in Science: Selection Committee annual report - 2000.
Recipients of previous awards.
Treasurer's Report for Fisical Year 2000-2001.
Governor's Award for Scientific Research and Science Awareness 2002.
Past governor's award recipients.
Governor's award recipients.
Proclamation 2004 Governor's Award for Excellence in Scientific Research.
Proclamation 2004 Governor's Award for Excellence in Science Awareness.
President's report: David J. Stroup, President.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters