Printer Friendly

The Eighteenth Annual Hanna Award.

The Eighteenth Annual Hanna Award in Coatings for the Best Project in the science and technology of chemical coatings was presented at Ohio Science Day, a gathering of the state's outstanding middle and high school science projects, which was held at Ohio State University on May 8. The winner was Carly J. Frazier, an eighth-grade student at Adena Middle School, in Frankfort, OH, for her project entitled, "Which Brand of Nail Polish is the Most Durable." The judges found Carly's work, which compared the durability of a broad selection of readily available consumer nail polish products, to be comprehensive and well thought-out, with a balanced regard for both scientific content and practical application.


The Hanna Award consists of $1000, an engraved plaque, and an award luncheon coupled with a tour of Akzo Nobel's state-of-the-art laboratories and production facilities in Columbus, OH. This award is given by the Coil and Extrusion Coatings Business Unit of Akzo Nobel Coatings Inc., to help create a greater interest in--and awareness of--the chemical coatings industry at the middle school and high school levels, and to help foster a greater interest in chemical coatings as a potential career field in science and technology.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Federation of Societies for Coatings Technology
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Business & Industry
Publication:JCT CoatingsTech
Date:Aug 1, 2004
Previous Article:Keystone Aniline Corp.
Next Article:Warren Cotton Ashley.

Related Articles
Feminist activism and art.
M.A. Hanna focuses on the 'custom' in custom compounding.
The eighteenth annual New York Dance and Performance Awards, known as The Bessies after the late teacher Bessie Schonberg Varley, honored...
District 7: Hanna.
Nineteenth Annual Hanna Award.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters