Printer Friendly

The Arthur C Clarke Science Fiction prize has been won by China Mieville for the third time.


China Mieville has been named as the winner of this year's Arthur C Clarke Science Fiction award, with a prize of an engraved bookend and a cheque for GBP2,010, for his title The City and the City.

Reportedly the first author to win three times, Mieville was previously awarded the prize for his novels Perdido Street Station and Iron Council.

The City and the City is a crime novel set in Beszel in eastern Europe, where the main character Inspector Tyador Borlu of the Extreme Crime Squad is attempting to solve the murder of a mysterious woman and discovers that she has links to Ul Qoma, a city that exists in the same physical space as Beszel.

The title has also won the British Science Fiction Association prize for best novel and is shortlisted for the US science fiction and fantasy awards, the Nebulas.

The other contenders on the award shortlist were: Spirit by Gwyneth Jones; Yellow Blue Tibia by Adam Roberts; Galileo's Dream by Kim Stanley Robinson; Far North by Marcel Theroux; and Retribution Falls by Chris Wooding.


COPYRIGHT 2010 Normans Media Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:M2 Best Books
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:Apr 29, 2010
Previous Article:Sales of political manifestos rise in UK bookshops.
Next Article:Edgar Allen Poe award winners are revealed.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters