Printer Friendly

The American Music Awards Presents the Coca-Cola New Music Award Narrows its Search to the Top 50 Qualifiers.

Entertainment Editors


One Unsigned Artist/Band Will Win the Opportunity

to Perform Live On the 2003 AMA Telecast

The Coca-Cola Company, The American Music Awards(R) (AMAs) and The CMJ Network (CMJ) turn their attention once again to recognizing the talent of unsigned artists and bands as they announce the top 50 Qualifiers for the second annual Coca-Cola New Music Award.

The winner of "The American Music Awards(R) Presents the Coca-Cola New Music Award" will have the opportunity to gain national primetime television exposure by performing live on the 2003 American Music Awards telecast on ABC-TV in January. The call to entries phase of the competition, announced this past June, received more than 1,000 submissions spanning a wide range of music genres. Last year, the first-ever winner Carbon Leaf from Richmond, Virginia shared the stage with artists like Lenny Kravitz, Sheryl Crow and Kid Rock.

"Both the quality and quantity of this year's entries continue to amaze us," said Bobby Haber, founder and CEO of CMJ. "No doubt it will be a very tight competition, and a difficult task to narrow the field as the competition progresses."

The chosen 50 Qualifiers are as follows: 20 minute crash (Norman, OK), 2nd day broadcast (Tampa, FL), Accidental Superhero (Colorado Springs, CO), Acetaminophen (Brooklyn, NY), Alice Lee (Brooklyn, NY), a.m. DRIVE (Anderson, IN), amusia (Boston, MA), bishop (Albany, NY), cinema8 (Washington, DC), Clearview 77 (Brooklyn, NY), combinationLOCK (Takoma Park, MD), DC-3 (Miami, FL), Deana (El Paso, TX), defined print (Washington, DC), dublika (Los Angeles, CA), Earl Pickens and the Black Mountain Marauders (New York, NY), Eric Alexandrakis (Miami, FL), Fagen (Smithtown, NY), Failsafe (Austin, TX), Father Divine (New York, NY), Feathergun (Los Angeles, CA), Finespun (Central Islip, NY), furniture music (New York, NY), Honeycomb (New York, NY), Jeremy Gloff (Tampa, FL), Jonasay (Baltimore, MD), Jonny Lives (New York, NY), Julia Brown (New York, NY), Kennedy (Burbank, CA), Knee Jerk Reaction (Los Angeles, CA), Majestic 12 (Hawthorne, NJ), Marc Supsic (Flourtown, PA), Mercury Boy (New York, NY), Moe Loughran (Nashville, TN), Oscura (Astoria, NY), Otto's Daughter (Jersey City, NJ), shagg. (Brooklyn, NY), Sleep Station (Oakland, NJ), SONA (State College, PA), Sprout (Syosset, NY), squint (Ruston, LA), Starball (Chicago, IL), Terell (Jamesburg, NJ), the dubnicks (Boston, MA), The Evoka Project (Winston-Salem, NC), The Mansions (Los Angeles, CA), The Naked Sams (Boston, MA), The Pawn Rook Four (Gainesville, FL), The UTMoST (Las Vegas, NV) and Trucker (Lawrence, KS).

"I've dedicated my life to music and believe in creating venues to showcase undiscovered talent," said Dick Clark, AMA creator and executive producer. "The Coca-Cola New Music Award is another great way to do that. Starting with these top 50 Qualifiers, we are helping to discover the new music stars of today."

In the next phase of the competition, Dick Clark and Bobby Haber will narrow down the 50 Qualifiers to 10 Semi-Finalists who will be invited to perform in a play-off competition at the Bowery Ballroom in New York City the evening of November 1, 2002. The contestants will perform in front of a live audience and a panel of judges will select three Finalists to perform in Los Angeles at The El Rey Theatre on January 10, 2003. Three nights later the winning artist or band will then take the stage on The 30th Annual American Music Awards on January 13th, an extraordinary opportunity for emerging talent.

"Coca-Cola and music go hand-in-hand and our numerous music initiatives are a growing hallmark of our brand," said Betsy Armentrout, on the Coca-Cola classic brand team. "The Coca-Cola New Music Award strongly connects us with our consumers and gives them an opportunity to discover talented new artists."

This award category, now in its second year, was created by The American Music Awards, The Coca-Cola Company, dick clark communications and The CMJ Network to honor the best unsigned artist or band in America.

To find out more about the 50 Qualifiers and to hear their music, visit

The American Music Awards(R) is a landmark television special celebrating its 30th year on ABC-TV in 2003. There are 21 awards winners, spanning nine musical categories, who are selected by the American record-buying public. The show is one of the highest-rated awards specials on television each year.
COPYRIGHT 2002 Business Wire
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2002, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Business Wire
Geographic Code:1U2NY
Date:Sep 17, 2002
Previous Article:American Fire Retardant Corporation Announces Strategic Alliance with Signature International, Inc.
Next Article:Atmel Updates Third Quarter 2002 Outlook.

Related Articles
The Pepsi Challenge.
Education Extra Achievements.
The Pepsi challenge. (Panorama).
Unreal thing. (Artifact).

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters