Printer Friendly

The AACC lectureship award, sponsored by an educational grant from Siemens Medical Solutions Diagnostics.

William E. Evans, PharmD, has been director and chief executive officer of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital in Memphis, TN, since 2004.


He holds the St. Jude Endowed Chair at the University of Tennessee Colleges of Pharmacy and Medicine. He has held many positions at each institution. From 1986 to 2002, he chaired the pharmaceutical department at St. Jude and was "pharmacist in charge" from 1986 to 1995. A University of Tennessee professor since 1983, he chaired the department of clinical pharmacy from 1983 to 1991. For the past 30 years, his research at St. Jude has focused on the pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and pharmacogenomics of anticancer agents in children. For this research, he has received 3 consecutive National Institutes of Health MERIT Awards from the National Cancer Institute. The major thrust of his pharmacogenomics research is acute lymphoblastic leukemia in children. Dr. Evans has authored more than 300 articles and book chapters, has edited several textbooks and scientific journals, and has received several national awards for his research. He was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences in 2002.

Compiled by David E. Bruns, Editor (
COPYRIGHT 2007 American Association for Clinical Chemistry, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2007 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:The Clinical Chemist
Author:Bruns, David E.
Publication:Clinical Chemistry
Date:Jun 1, 2007
Previous Article:AACC international travel fellowship, sponsored by BD Diagnostics Preanalytical Systems.
Next Article:AACC award for outstanding contribution for a publication in the international journal clinical chemistry, sponsored by Siemens Medical Solutions...

Related Articles
2005 AACC award recipients.
2006 AACC award recipients.
2008 AACC Award recipients.
2004 AACC Award winners.
2003 AACC Awards.
The AACC lectureship award.
The AACC Lectureship Award.
The AACC lectureship award, supported by an Educational Grant from Bayer Diagnostics.
AACC award recipients, 2006.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters