Printer Friendly

Taxpayers bear the brunt of 47 MPs' fancy stay.

THE Central government has spent ` 24 crore for the accommodation of 47 MPs of the current Lok Sabha in five- star hotels and luxurious government guest houses. These MPs have been staying in transit accommodations as they have not been allotted flats by the government even nearly 14 months after the Lok Sabha elections.

Out of these 47 MPs, 10 are still staying in transit accommodations even though their regular accommodations are habitable.

The information was revealed in response to an RTI application filed by Subhash Chandra Agrawal, a city- based activist.

Transit accommodation is given to the members of Parliament who didn't get government accommodations or because of some repair work or alteration in their regular accommodations.

The list of these MPs includes Ashwini Kumar, Poonam Mahajan and Bhagwant Mann.

According to the RTI response filed by Lok Sabha Secretariat, most of these MPs are staying in the Tamil Nadu House. Of the 13 MPs in Tamil Nadu House, five have habitable accommodations.

The rent of the transit accommodation is paid by the Directorate Most MPs staying in Tamil Nadu house

Directorate of Estates ( DoE). The members are liable to pay charges for food, beverages and other additional services, including charges of telephone in the state guest houses. The members get 14 days time to shift to their habitable accommodation.

However, after 14 days the members are liable to pay the rent.

Former Union minister Ajit Singh vacated the Tughlaq Road bungalow after overstaying for 118 days and a bitter stand- off with the government.

" Earlier experiences reveal a

battle between Union Ministry of Urban Development, Lok Sabha Secretariat and public sector India Tourism Development Corporation over disputed bills of ITDC hotels when Lok Sabha members continued to stay in five- star hotels even after being provided regular government accommodations," Agrawal said.

This rise in expenditure can be attributed to the Lok Sabha elections of 2014 which resulted in the influx of many first- time- MPs. As per norms, an MP has to be provided government accommodation within 30 days of his election to either House.

Of the thirteen AIADMK MPs, six have not shifted into their accommodation in spite of it being made " habitable" over a month ago.

Copyright [c] 2015 India Today Group. All Rights Reserved. Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2015 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mail Today (New Delhi, India)
Date:Jul 21, 2015
Previous Article:SC tightens noose on all Vyapam accused.
Next Article:WhatsApp message triggers tension.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters