Printer Friendly

Task force publishes teaching report.

Task Force Publishes Teaching Report A task force composed of ACM, MAA, and IEEE-CS members recently published its findings on issues inherent to teaching computer science within mathematics departments.

The report criticizes the deficiency of adequately and sufficiently trained computer science instructors, the lack of a credible measuring tool to check an instructor's effectiveness, the absence of funds to equip a computer science laboratory, and the inaccesibility to such major networks as CSNET and BITNET.

The Task Force addressed these areas of concern and provided solutions and alternate resolutions for most. For instance, it established the minimum degree requirements necessary to qualify to teach computer science classes and recommended that a computer science maintenance staff be added to programs to reduce the doubling-up of instructors as maintenance personnel. The Task Force also noted that conference papers and software development should be accepted as evidence of an instructor's continuing mastery of the field. It also noted that professional societies and organizations as well as government groups offer financial support to equip computer science labs.

Intended for math faculty and administrators, the report's findings are in the area of computer science instruction within mathematics departments. A full copy of the report is available from the Mathematical Association of America, 1529 Eighteenth St., N.W., Washington, DC 20036.

The Task Force Contributing members were David Ballew (Western Illinois University), Kim B. Bruce (Williams College), Ronald M. David (Northern Virginia Community College), D'Ann F. Fuquay (Mercer University), Judith L. Gersting (Indiana University)--Purdue University, Indianapolis), Herbert J. Greenberg (University of Denver), Benjamin D. Haytock (Allegheny College), Roland Jackson Ill (Tuskegee University), Zaven A. Karian, Chair, (Denison University), Bruce Klein (Grand Valley State College), L. Carl Leinbach (Gettysburg College), James A. Stager (Millersville University of Pennsylvania), Henry M. Walker (Grinnel College), and Grace Yeung (California State University, Fresno).

Other contributors were Robert M. Aiken (Temple University), Gerald L. Engel (University of Connecticut, Stamford), Arnold M. Ostebee (St. Olaf College), and Stanley E. Seltzer (Ithaca College).

COPYRIGHT 1989 Association for Computing Machinery, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1989 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:general news
Publication:Communications of the ACM
Date:Jan 1, 1989
Previous Article:Carnegie Mellon Caps Computer Chess Championship.
Next Article:Where to find fractals*.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |