Printer Friendly

Taking right path; In association with the NHS North of Tyne.

AT the heart of the practice of yoga is an eight-limbed path, which forms its central framework.

No single limb is more important than another, the theory being that each limb forms part of a whole, eventually bringing completeness to the yoga practitioner.

The eight limbs are Yama, or universal morality; Niyama, or personal observances; Asanas, or body postures; Pranayama, or breathing exercises; Pratyahara, or control of the senses; Dharana, or concentration and cultivation of inner perception; Dhyana, or devotion and meditation on the divine; Samadhi, or union with the divine.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Evening Chronicle (Newcastle, England)
Date:Oct 20, 2008
Previous Article:Roots lie in India; In association with the NHS North of Tyne.
Next Article:Vaccine hope; in accociation with NHS north of type.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters