Printer Friendly

TVMI Hands Out Scholarships.

At the May 17 Tug Valley Mining Institute (TVMI) dinner meeting, six 2018 scholarship recipients were awarded. The $8,000 David B. Akers Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Michaela Norman, Phelps High and the $8,000 Raymond J. Scites Honorary Scholarship Award was awarded to Hannah McCoy, Belfry High. Four $1,000 scholarships were awarded to Tori Doty, Man High; Addam Gibson, Mingo Central; Casey King, Mingo Central; and Bethany Prater, Belfry High.

Over the last 22 years, TVMI has awarded 130 students $313,250 in scholarship monies. The TVMI scholarship is open to students from Mingo, Logan, Wayne, Pike and Martin counties.

Caption: TVMI scholars pictured from left to right: Andy Ashurst, TVMI president; Tori Doty; Addam Gibson; Bethany Prater; Aaron Price, Coronado vice president of safety; Hannah McCoy; Michaela Norman; and Ray Scites, TVMI treasurer.

COPYRIGHT 2018 PRIMEDIA Business Magazines & Media Inc. All rights reserved.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:AWARDS; Tug Valley Mining Institute
Publication:Coal Age (1996)
Date:Jul 1, 2018
Previous Article:Duke's East Bend Coal Plant in Kentucky in it for 'Long Haul'.
Next Article:EPA Approves First State Coal Ash Permit.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters