Printer Friendly

TS Eliot prize awarded to Seamus Heaney.


The GBP10,000 2006 TS Eliot Prize has been awarded to Irish poet Seamus Heaney for his collection entitled District and Circle.

The award was collected on Heaney's behalf at a ceremony held in London on Monday (15 January) by Paul Keegan, poetry editor of his publisher Faber and Faber, due to the poet's recent ill-health, The Independent reported.

Other poets on the shortlist included Paul Muldoon, Simon Armitage, Paul Farley and Hugo Williams.

Heaney is a previous winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature and has also been named as the Whitbread Book of the Year Award winner on two occasions.
COPYRIGHT 2007 Normans Media Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2007 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:District and Circle
Publication:M2 Best Books
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jan 16, 2007
Previous Article:Winner of University of Southern California's Scripter Award announced.
Next Article:Appeal launched in Da Vinci Code case.

Related Articles
Simon Armitage to judge Griffin poetry prize.
culture: Melancholy poet wins big award.
TS Eliot prize for poetry is awarded to Jen Hadfield.
Poetry legend agrees to take up Slack; Heaney set to present work at university.
Winner of TS Eliot poetry prize is Phillip Gross.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |