Printer Friendly

TN elections 2011: AIADMK and DMDK announces candidates-Jayalalithaa from Srirangam and Vijayakanth from Rishivandiam.

Chennai, March 22 -- The All India Anna Dravida Kazhagagam(AIADMK) supremo J Jayalalithaa has decided to contest from Srirangm Constituency and her new confident actor turned politician DMDK leader Vijayakanth seeking his fortune from Rishivandiyam instead of his earlier constituency Viruthachalam.

Ms Jayalalithaa also pitted her party strong man in the Tiruvarur District and the district secretary 'Kodavasal' Rajendran against state Chief Minister M Karunanidhi and notorious figure in Chennai Mr Saidai Duraisamy against the Deputy Chief Minister and Karunanidhi's son M K Satalin in Kolathur.

The AIADMK on Monday released the fresh list of candidates for the Assembly polls. The names of 41 constituencies allotted to the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) were also released.

As seat-sharing proceedings have been completed, AIADMK general secretary Jayalalithaa announced that she would kick start the campaign from Tiruchi on March 24 and end up at Chennai on April 11.

As per the new list, former AIADMK legislator Saidai Duraisami will take on Deputy Chief Minister M.K. Stalin at Kolathur constituency. Kodavasal M. Rajendran is the AIADMK's candidate for Tiruvarur constituency where Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi is entering the fray.

DMDK's constituencies include Virudhachalam, Rishivandhiyam, Thirkovilur, Thiruchengode, Virugambakkam, Egmore (reserved), Radhapuram, Hosur, Tittakudi (reserved), Padmanabhapuram, Tiruttani, Sholingar, Dharmapuri, Kambam and Virudhunagar

In a development pointing to the failure of talks with NR Congress in Puducherry, AIADMK on Monday announced its candidates for all the 30 constituencies in the union territory, which would go to polls on April 13.

The AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa, in a statement said the party's Puducherry unit secretary A Anabazhagan would seek election from Uppalam.

NR Congress was floated by former Chief Minister N Rangasamy after quitting from Congress. He had met Ms. Jayalalithaa here recently and AIADMK team was holding poll talks with him.

Tamil Nadu's major opposition party AIADMK on Monday formally announced its agreement with the DMDK, led by actor-turned-politician Vijayakant, allotting it 41 seats for the coming assembly elections.

The AIADMK also announced it own revised list of candidates for 160 constituencies.

Party general secretary and former chief minister J Jayalalithaa will contest from the temple town Srirangam, around 330 km from Chennai, which is considered to be a safe seat for her and falls under the Tiruchirapalli Lok Sabha constituency held by the AIADMK. In 2006 Jayalalithaa had won from Andipatti.

The AIADMK candidates will file their nominations March 24 between 11 a.m. and 1 p.m as per party directive.

The AIADMK has finalized alliances for 74 of the 234 seats with 10 parties for the April 13 elections.

Besides DMDK, the other parties in the alliance are the CPI-M (12 seats), CPI (10), MNMK (3), PT (2), SMK (2), RPI (1), FB (1), KYF (1) and AIMMK (1).

The agreement with the DMDK ended a three-day crisis Sunday that had threatened to break the AIADMK-led alliance over concerns about the hugely popular Vijayakant leaving it after Jayalalithaa's unilateral announcement of constituencies for AIADMK candidates.

Jayalalithaa will now start her campaign tour March 24 to Tiruchirapalli, around 335 km from here.

She will return here March 30 and start out for Tuticorin, Kanyakumari and Tirunelvelli the next day.

After canvassing in various districts, the leader will return to Chennai on April 9 and campaign here till April 11.

For any query with respect to this article or any other content requirement, please contact Editor at

Copyright HT Media Ltd.

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2011 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Asian Tribune (India)
Date:Mar 22, 2011
Previous Article:2G-Spectrum Scam: Dr Swamy seeks sanction to prosecute Home Minister P Chidambaram.
Next Article:Working Class in Sri Lanka condemns Western Nations on indiscriminate bombing in Libya.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters