Printer Friendly


THE DSM +31 46 476 3559 Nutritional Sciences Award 2013 has been given to Professor Marct G. Traber, Director, Oxidative & Nitrative Stress Laboratory, The Linus Pauling Institute, College of Public Health and Human Sciences, Corvallis, Oregon, USA. Professor Traber received the distinction for her lifetime commitment and scientific achievements in the field of vitamin E research.

An international judging committee, chaired by Dr Manfred Eggersdorfer, Senior Vice President DSM Nutrition Science and Advocacy, selected Professor Maret Traber from among several candidates shortlisted by an international pre-selection committee. The award, which carries a cash prize of [euro]50,000, was presented by Marcel Wubbolts, DSM Chief Technology Officer, at the 20th IUNS Conference in Granada, Spain, in September.

In addition to her role as a Principal Investigator and Director of the Oxidative & Nitrative Stress Core at the Linus Pauling Institute, Dr Traber is Professor in the Nutrition programme in the School of Biological and Population Health Sciences in the College of Public Health and Human Sciences at Oregon State University. She received both undergraduate and doctoral degrees in Nutrition Science from the University of California at Berkeley, and holds the LPI Professorship in Micronutrient Research.

Professor Traber is a pioneer in vitamin E research and the world's leading researcher of vitamin E in humans. She has reported landmark discoveries on the bioavailability of vitamin E, its antioxidant function, and its metabolism in health and disease. Professor Traber's scientific contribution is reflected in more than 200 publications, which have been quoted over 10,000 times, and in a number of book chapters, conference proceedings, editorials, and review articles.

At the award ceremony, the judging committee concluded that: "Professor Maret Traber has been providing seminal work and is a major contributor to our understanding of the role of vitamin E as an essential micronutrient in human metabolism in health and disease. As such, she is a highly qualified recipient of the DSM Nutritional Science Award 2013 for Research in Human Nutrition."

The DSM Nutritional Sciences Award forms part of the DSM Bright Science Awards programme. It is granted every two years, and alternates between the fields of human nutrition and animal nutrition.

COPYRIGHT 2013 Food Trade Press Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2013 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:PERSONALIA
Publication:Food Trade Review
Date:Nov 1, 2013
Previous Article:Global leader in gelatine and collagen peptides.
Next Article:Klaus Stojentin is the new president of sales.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters