Printer Friendly


In association with the Library of Congress, Rutgers University Press has announced the publication of Shall Not Be Denied: Women Fight for the Vote. The book is the official illustrated companion to the Library of Congress exhibition of the same name and will be published June 4 to coincide with the exhibit's opening. The exhibition and book tell the story of the long campaign for women's suffrage--the largest reform movement in American history--lasting more than seven decades. The struggle was not for the fainthearted. For years, determined women organized, lobbied, paraded, petitioned, lectured, picketed, and faced imprisonment.

Running from June 4-Sept. 30, 2020, the exhibition draws from the Library's extensive collections of personal papers and organizational records of such figures as Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Mary Church Terrell, Carrie Chapman Catt, the National Woman's Party, the National American Woman Suffrage Association, and others.

Documents, images, and video and audio recordings will trace the movement leading to the women's rights convention at Seneca Falls, N.Y., the contributions of suffragists who worked to persuade women that they deserved the same rights as men, the divergent political strategies and internal divisions they overcame, the push for a Federal women's suffrage amendment, and the legacy of this movement.

Notes Librarian of Congress Carla D. Hayden: "The history of this struggle is one of celebration and setbacks, commanded by dynamic and formidable personalities--changemakers--who believed in relentless action and civil disobedience in the name of equality and justice. In fighting for the right to vote, women formed national political organizations, developed new strategies for protest, and brought women into the public sphere in new and more visible ways. These advances laid the groundwork for civic action that has been emulated by those working for other civil rights causes."

"Shall Not Be Denied is a gorgeous collection that sheds new light on the long fight for women's suffrage. Rutgers University Press is thrilled to partner with the Library of Congress to publish this exciting volume," says Rutgers University Press Assistant Editor Elisabeth Maselli.

Rutgers University Press is a leading publisher of women's studies, including the six-volume set of The Selected Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony, edited by Anne D. Gordon, and Treacherous Texts: An Anthology of U.S. Suffrage Literature, 1846-1946, edited by Mary Chapman and Angela Mills.

The "Shall Not Be Denied" exhibit is part of a yearlong initiative in 2019 inviting Library visitors to Explore America's Changemakers through a series of exhibitions, events, and programs. Exhibitions drawing from the Library's collections will explore the fight for women's suffrage; Rosa Parks' groundbreaking role in civil rights history; and artists' responses to major issues of the day. Other events throughout the year will explore changemakers through music, performances, and public programs.

COPYRIGHT 2019 Society for the Advancement of Education
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:WHAT'S NEW?; "Shall Not Be Denied" exhibition
Publication:USA Today (Magazine)
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Mar 1, 2019

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |