Printer Friendly

Students innovate at design challenges.

Student engineers took part in two events--the Innovative Additive Manufacturing 3D Challenge (IAM3D) and the Innovative Design Simulation Challenge (IDSC)--held on Aug. 2 in Boston during the ASME 2015 International Design Engineering Technical Conferences & Computers and Information in Engineering Conference, and Additive Manufacturing + 3D Printing Conference (IDETC/CIE/AM3D).

Sixteen teams faced off at the final round of IAM3D, which offers undergraduates the opportunity to re-engineer products or create new designs that minimize energy consumption or improve energy efficiency. Winning entries in each category earned a $2,000 award.

The Best Overall Design Award was captured by a team from Texas Tech University in Lubbock for a vacuum-driven water purification unit. Students Shaun Foreman and Taylor Cychowski represented the team in Boston.

The Best Innovative Design Award went to Scott Hill, Chas Davies, and Nikola Tepavac of Tennessee Technological University for a life-size, flexible prosthetic hand that could be used by either a robot or a human.

Soumay Gupta and Ramanjeet Singh from India Institute of Technology Roorkee won the Best Freshman Design Award for their project, which used 3-D printing to create a piston cylinder-based speed bump capable of generating energy from cars and trucks that pass over it. The team members, who remained in India, presented their entry via Skype.

Twelve teams demonstrated their skills in developing and deploying simulations for prediction models at the finals of the ASME Innovative Design Simulation Challenge. Each winning entry received a $2,000 prize.

Two teams received the Best Overall Simulation Award, commercial software category. Receiving the top award were Yu Han Cheng, Yen Ting Wang, and Han Yu Lee from National Taiwan University, and Sharanga Bora of NIT Silchar, India. The Best Utility/Impact Award for commercial software went to Jonathan Alcocer, Eduardo Arvea, and Miguel Rodriguez from Universidad Autonoma del Carmen, Mexico.

In the mixed software category, Sohail Reddy of Florida International University won the Best Overall Simulation Award, and Rohit Solanki, Jeet Trivedi, and Harsh Pandya from B.H. Gardi College of Engineering and Technology in Rajkot, India, received the Best Utility/ Impact Award.

In the custom software category, Pin Yi Chen of Taiwan National University was recognized with the Best Overall Simulation Award.

COPYRIGHT 2015 American Society of Mechanical Engineers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:ASME NEWS
Publication:Mechanical Engineering-CIME
Date:Oct 1, 2015
Previous Article:New ASME Journal accepting papers.
Next Article:Innovation showcase highlights global entrepreneurship.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters