Printer Friendly

Structural Awards now open for entries.

Established in 1968, the Structural Awards are the world's most prestigious acknowledgement of structural engineering excellence. There are 10 categories to enter, and structural engineers from around the world are invited to submit their projects. The deadline for entries is 16 April 2010 and the shortlist will be announced on 4 August 2010.

Each year the Institution of Structural Engineers holds the competition to celebrate and reward the superb work of Structural Engineers all over the world.

Despite the challenging economy, 2009 saw more than 100 entries from as far afield as New Zealand, California and South Africa, as well as from the UK. The judges deemed the entries to be of the highest standard yet, but are expecting even greater things for 2010!

Last year's supreme award went to the stunning Infinity Footbridge by Expedition Engineering. Chris Wise of Expedition Engineering said: "It was the biggest thrill of the year. To be judged at the top of the pile by peers whom we hold in such high regard does wonders for our sense of self."

The ten categories cover every aspect of structural engineering, from heritage to industrial, education to sustainability.

This year the Structural Awards event will take place on 5 November 2010 (venue to be confirmed). For more information on the event and how to enter, visit
COPYRIGHT 2010 Institution of Engineering Designers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:What's happening?
Publication:Engineering Designer
Date:Mar 1, 2010
Previous Article:Rise in registrations.
Next Article:PDM 10 announces line-up.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters