Printer Friendly

State by state.

SINCE THERE ARE NO FEDERAL requirements for security officer training, some states have taken the initiative in instituting their own. Certain states, such as North Dakota and Oklahoma, have taken the responsibility quite seriously; others have not. Have a look and see if your state is aiding in-or neglecting-the professionalization of today's security officers. The following training requirements are reprinted with permission from The Security Letter Source Book, 1990-1991. The Source Book is published by Security Letter and distributed by Butterworth-Heinemann, 80 Montvale Ave., Stoneham, MA 02180. The list was compiled by, Robert McCrie, CPP, publisher/editor; Diane Botnick, associate editor; and Fulvia Madia, editorial assistant.

Note: No data is available for Alabama, Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Oregon, Puerto Rico, South Dakota, Washington, and Wyoming. Alaska

Armed and unarmed: eight-hour preassignment training on duties for temporary permit; additional 40 hours of in-service training within six months of hiring on relevant laws, fire prevention, first aid, and patrol techniques. Annual eight-hour refresher course on these topics. Armed: eight-hour preassignment training in weapons use and pertinent laws. Arizona

No fixed number of hours. Guard firms' training curricula must be approved for agency license. Arkansas

Armed and unarmed: eight-hour training course and exam on legal authority, act, and field note taking and report writing; renewal two-hour refresher course on act, two-hour course on legal authority, and exam within 60 days of expiration. Armed: four hours of firearms training on legal limitations, weapons safety, marksmanship, and range firing; minimum score of 60 percent on range. Yearly renewal-firearms training and qualification requirements as specified. California

Armed and unarmed: 20-hour course on powers of arrest, 100 percent score on open-book exam. Armed: 14 hours of firearms training; 85 percent minimum score on written test; eight-hour range instruction. Connecticut

Armed: seven hours of state police course and certified course for firearm permit ($25 fee for five-year permit). Delaware

None required for unarmed. Armed: Guards must be certified by a certified instructor. District of Columbia

Armed: four hours of classroom preassignment training; range qualification. Florida

Armed: 16 hours of basic training at approved school. Must pass course exam with 70 percent score. Regulations detail topics, hours, and classroom space/ student. Georgia

Minimum eight hours of classroom instruction covering duties, functions, legal authority, fire prevention and control, familiarity with act, regulations, and first aid. Armed: minimum 12 hours of classroom instruction: eight hours of basic program (above) and one hour each in laws of arrest, search and seizure, mechanics of arrest, and misdemeanors and felonies. Classroom instruction on weapons use, firearm range instruction, and familiarization course for special weapons. Hawaii

Armed: eight hours of preassignment training. Illinois

Armed and unarmed: minimum 20 hours of basic classroom training; employer must verify successful completion. Armed: 20 hours of firearms training with practice firing on range, firearms qualification course. Indiana

None required. Iowa

Armed: Four-hour firearms course through county sheriff's office. On-campus requirements: successfully complete approved firearms training program, possess weapons permit, and have sworn affidavit from employer stating duties and justification. Sheriff can require additional firearms training. Kentucky

(Special law enforcement officer only.) Eighty hours of approved program on related laws or minimum one-year, full-time employment as sworn public peace officer or successfully completed, approved exams on related subject matter. Must demonstrate proficiency in firearms safety and use and first aid. Exam fee $15; firearms exam fee $20; "reasonable fee" to cover training costs of the program. Louisiana

Armed and unarmed: eight hours of classroom instruction within 30 days of hiring on rules, regulations, law, legal powers, first aid, general duties, and report writing. Additional eight hours within six months in approved program taught by certified instructor. Exams given after each eight-hour segment. Armed: additional eight hours of preassignment firearms course on handgun safety and firing and firing range qualification with annual four-hour refresher courses, firearms instruction, and marksmanship qualification. Must score 60 percent to qualify, 150/250 to pass course. (Detailed basic and armed training manuals available.) Maine

None required. Maryland

None required for unarmed. Armed: eight hours of preassignment training. Massachusetts

None required. Michigan

None required despite legislative attempts. Minnesota

Bill introduced in 1989 state legislature addressed training for armed and unarmed guards and proprietary employees. No action to date. Montana

None required for unarmed. Armed: training by approved instructor. Minimum 10 hours of training on safety, handling, liability, and statutes. Seventy percent score on firearms safety and proficiency test - written exam and combat shooting course with authorized firearm. Demonstration of reasonable competence in firearm skill as determined by certified instructor. Registration based on satisfactory completion of certified combat shooting course annually. Nevada

None required for unarmed. Armed: six hours of classroom instruction, exam; firing range, shooting minimum of 50 rounds with 70 minimum score. New Hampshire

None required for unarmed. Armed: four hours of classroom and range qualification; instruction to include firearms techniques, safety, and laws on use of deadly force. Minimum qualification score of 75 percent for practical police course or tactical revolver course, shotgun familiarization course if used. New Jersey

None required for unarmed. Armed: number of hours of training not specified. New Mexico

None required for unarmed. Armed: Minimum 20 hours-four hours of classroom training related to legal aspects of use of deadly force, 16 hours on the range. Additional four-hour shotgun qualification course if shotgun carried. Ten-hour yearly requalification course-two hours of classroom and eight hours of range instruction program specified. New York

None required. Bills now in committee would require training for armed and unarmed guards. North Carolina

None for unarmed guards. Armed: four hours of classroom training by certified trainer on legal limits on handgun use, knowledge of act, range firing, and procedure and safety. Must fire 70 percent score on approved target course. Annual renewal includes complete refresher course and requalification on prescribed range firing. Guard agencies or in-house departments may qualify as training institutions if programs include required courses taught by approved instructors. North Dakota

Three levels:

Apprentice: Minimum 16 hours of classroom instruction on security services, first aid, and other training employer deems necessary for assignment. Minimum 16 hours of field training under supervision of qualified security officer before working unsupervised.

Security officer: After 1,000 hours and before 2,000 hours as active apprentice, individual applies for registration as private security officer that is contingent on training-32 hours of classroom instruction, which includes required curriculum and other training employer deems necessary.

Commissioned security officer: Requires 4,000 hours of active service as security officer and additional 80 hours of classroom instruction based on suggested curricula. Ohio

None required for unarmed guards. Armed: as of 1986, must satisfactorily complete firearms basic training program, including 20 hours of handgun training and five hours of training in use of other firearms if used or authorized equivalent training or former peace officer training. Must requalify annually on firearms range. Oklahoma

Private security division's motto: "Professionalism Through Training." Second only to North Dakota in length of training. Three courses of instruction:

I: Basic, 22 hours of instruction related to general private security tasks.

II Security guard, 18 hours of instruction related to tasks of unarmed guards.

IV: Firearms, phases I and II, plus 24 hours of training in care, handling, and firing of revolvers and shotguns (eight hours of classroom, 16 hours of range).

Armed: I, II, IV - 64 hours for Armed Security Guard Training Course at approved schools. Specifies student-instructor ratios of 30:1 (5:1 for range) and instructor qualifications and facilities standards (for example, 10 sq. ft./ student). During phase IV, must take Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory or approved equivalent given by qualified person and evaluated by licensed psychologist chosen and paid for by student. Pennsylvania

Armed: 40-hour basic training course; eight hours of additional training required for five-year license renewal. Rhode island

None required for unarmed. Armed: range test required with minimum score of 195/300. South Carolina

Unarmed: eight hours of instruction. Armed: 12 hours of preassignment instruction, including classroom instruction. Tennessee

Completed within 30 days of employment, basic four-hour course on general training by certified trainer. Armed: eight more hours of classroom firearm training-four hours on range and marksmanship training-with 75 percent score on silhouette target course. Renewal: four-hour refresher training, requalification in firearm use with minimum 75 percent score. Requirements given for certified trainers-contractor proprietary employee. Texas

None required for unarmed. Armed: 30-hour basic training program, including minimum five hours on firearms. Utah

Model programs provided in rules. Unarmed: 12 hours of training prior to application-minimum six hours of classroom instruction, six hours of on-the-job training working unarmed and accompanied by licensed guard. Armed: 12 hours of preassignment training as for unarmed guard. Twelve hours of firearms instruction with certificate as proof: four hours of classroom, eight hours of range experience with weapon to be used on duty. Must pass range test with 70 percent score. Renewal: eight hours of in-service training and same firearm instruction as required for original license. Vermont

None required for unarmed. Armed: 16 hours of preassignment classroom instruction program to stress safe and proper use and handling of firearms and dogs, legal responsibility for improper or negligent use of either. NRA-approved police combat or security firing course using silhouette targets. Dog handlers: 16 hours of classroom and practical exercise training, additional four hours of firearm training if armed. Training waived with proof of equivalent training elsewhere. Virginia

At agent's discretion for unarmed guards; none required. Armed: training certification of firearm classroom training and range firing for specific weapon; two-year firearm certification $50; renewal $15. Must carry registration card while on duty. West Virginia

None required. Wisconsin

None required for unarmed. Armed: Wisconsin Department of Justice course prescribed with certified trainer; annual recertification.
COPYRIGHT 1991 American Society for Industrial Security
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1991 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:state requirements for security officer training
Publication:Security Management
Date:Mar 1, 1991
Words:1613
Previous Article:Personnel professionalization.
Next Article:Dressing for security success.
Topics:


Related Articles
Targeting professionalism.
Should we pay now or later?
Personnel professionalization.
The role of regulation.
Guard bill revisions.
A shot in the dark.
Building support for security legislation.
Teach them well.
Taking Stock of the states.
Don't Let Your Guard Down.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters