Printer Friendly

South Sudan joins G77 member states.

October 3, 2014 (JUBA) -- South Sudan has officially joined the Group 77, a loose coalition of developing nations, designed to promote its members' collective economic interests and create an enhanced joint negotiating capacity in the United Nations.

"We are very delighted to be part of the Group 77 countries under the UN's partnership of developing nations premeditated to promote its member states cooperative economic interest and create an enhanced joint negotiating capability at the United Nations," foreign affairs minister, Barnaba Marial Benjamin disclosed on Wednesday.

Marial was part of the delegation that accompanied president Salva Kiir to the 69th session of the UN general assembly meeting in New York.

The G77 United Nations countries were established on 15 June, 1964 by the joint Declaration of the 77 states as a UN's gear on trade and development. Its first assembly, at which the Algiers Chapter was adopted, reportedly took place in 1967 in the Algerian capital, Algiers.

Initially, there were 77 founding members of the organisation, but this had expanded to 133 members by November last year.

Bolivia currently holds the chairmanship for the G77 member states.


Copyright 2003-2014 SudanTribune - All rights reserved. Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2014 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2014 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Sudan Tribune (Sudan)
Date:Oct 3, 2014
Previous Article:S. Sudan parliament delays discussions security bill for second time.
Next Article:Officials say 3m grant misappropriated in Jonglei.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters