Printer Friendly

Solid display on the Wear; Tees Rowing.


TEES Rowing Club sent crews to the Durham Small Boats Head of the River, the first event in the region for 2012, in a range of categories from junior (aged 13) to veterans and masters.

The competition was split into four divisions to take into account the huge entry of around 350 crews from rowing clubs throughout the region.

Many competitors competed in more than one division that was raced over a coarse stretching upstream on the River Wear from Prebends Bridge in Durham City over a course of 1,800m.

Tees Rowing Club entered a strong complement of crews for this event.

Good performances included Harriet Mace in the WJ16 category in a time of 8mins 51secs, Elliot Sharp in the MJ18 (1x) event in 7.42.8, and Nicole Winship and Harriet Mace WJ18(2x) in 8.53.4.

The Masters D and G (Kenyon) categories produced the fastest time of 7.03.9 for a Tees crew stroked by Steven Leigh. Tees IM3 crew stroked by Mark Benson were pleased with their time of 7.12.1 in their first serious competition of the year. THE Yorkshire Head of the River Race attracted a huge entry and Tees Rowing Club crews were strongly represented.

The Yorkshire Head is contested on the River Ouse over a 5,100m course starting at Rawcliffe Landing and finishing in York at Lendal Bridge.

Top performances of the day came from the J17 Single Scull win of Elliot Sharp of Tees RC in a time of 21mins 45secs. It was followed by excellent wins in competitive events for Tees Masters D 8+ of John Winton, Graham York, Sean Kenneally, Richard Olver, Nick Mellor, Ken Watson, Alan Puddick, Stroke Ian Burns and cox Nicole Winship.

There were notable wins for the Masters G 4x- of Ralph Pickles, John Green, Tony Stocking, Chris Kenyon who only just managed to scrape over the line a mere 2secs ahead of Tees Masters D crew of Dick Wilkinson, Tony Atherton, Graham Calvert and Steven Leigh also in a 4x-(coxless quad).

Additional results for Tees crews included WIM34x- (Dora) finished 118th, MIM38+ (Barlow) 48th, WIM38+(Dora), Puddick in the Masters E 2x-177th and finally, J18 4+crew of Robert Enright, Ali Ben Tiba, Harry Clarke, Liam Wood and cox Graham York were a creditable 148th in a time of 22.39.

Janet Wilkinson also of Tees was competing on the Tideway Womens Head of the River Race in a composite Veteran E crew including athletes from Tyne RC Tyne United RC, Duram ARC, finishing in 23.57.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Features
Publication:Evening Gazette (Middlesbrough, England)
Date:Mar 17, 2012
Previous Article:Stock kton made to work hard; Rugby.
Next Article:SUSTAIN HAS THE ABILITY; Racing preview.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters