Printer Friendly

Smoke and Mirrors: Short Fictions and Illusions.

[ILLUSTRATION OMITTED]

Smoke and Mirrors: Short Fictions and Illusions By Neil Gaiman. New York: Avon Books, 1998. 352 pages. $24. Briton Neil Gaiman is a serious writer with a serious handicap: His background is in comic books, and his bailiwick is the fantastic. His Sandman comic series, though held in high cult regard, probably won't win the literary acclaim of the graphic novel Maus. Short fiction like Gaiman's, in the tradition of Harlan Ellison and Ray Bradbury, rarely gets the respect it deserves. But Gaiman knows what all the best fantasists know: The impossible is sometimes the best way to illuminate certain out-of-the-way crannies in the human soul, as he does here to heartbreaking effect.--B.D.

COPYRIGHT 1998 Foundation for National Progress
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1998 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Doherty, Brian
Publication:Mother Jones
Date:Sep 1, 1998
Words:117
Previous Article:The New York Diaries: Too-True Tales of Urban Trauma.
Next Article:Mr. Mike: The Life and Work of Michael O'Donoghue.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters