Printer Friendly

Singapore : Board Renewal at Sembcorp Industries.

Sembcorp Industries (Sembcorp) is pleased to announce that Ajaib Haridass and Neil McGregor will be appointed as independent directors to the board with effect from May 1, 2014.

With more than 36 years legal experience, Mr Haridass is a respected maritime law specialist, and also deals with commercial and banking litigation. Currently a Consultant with Haridass Ho & Partners, a legal firm he founded in 1985, Mr Haridass is a panel member of the Singapore International Arbitration Centre and the Singapore Chamber of Maritime Arbitration, an accredited mediator of the Singapore Mediation Centre, as well as a referee of the Small Claims Tribunal of the State Courts of Singapore (formerly known as the Subordinate Courts). He is a Commissioner for Oaths, a Notary Public and a Justice of the Peace. Aside from his new appointment to Sembcorp Industries board, Mr Haridass is an independent director of Sembcorp Marine, a listed subsidiary of Sembcorp Industries, and chairs its board s risk and nominating committees. He is also the lead independent director of Nam Cheong Limited, a specialist builder of offshore support vessels.

Mr McGregor brings to Sembcorp 40 years of expertise in capital markets and the energy and infrastructure sectors, as well as experience in markets in Europe, Asia and Oceania. He is currently a director of Singapore LNG Corporation, where he was formerly the Chief Executive Officer. In addition, he is a director of Clifford Capital and the National University of Singapore s Energy Studies Institute, as well as a Fellow of the Singapore Institute of Directors. Prior to joining Singapore LNG Corporation, Mr McGregor was Managing Director of the PowerSeraya Group a major power generation and retail player in Singapore and Chairman of PetroSeraya, PowerSeraya s oil trading arm.

Both Mr Haridass and Mr McGregor will join the board s Risk Committee.

With the addition of the new directors, Dr Teh Kok Peng will relinquish his seat as a member of the board s Risk Committee, and join the board s Audit Committee. Meanwhile, Tan Sri Mohd Hassan Marican will relinquish his seat as a member of the board s Audit and Risk Committees, and join the board s Executive Resource & Compensation Committee and Nominating Committee. These changes will also take effect from May 1, 2014.

2014 Al Bawaba ( Provided by , an company
COPYRIGHT 2014 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2014 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mena Report
Date:May 2, 2014
Previous Article:Sweden : NCC starts new office project near Copenhagen.
Next Article:Thailand : CP GROUP is moving to build private jet facility.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters