Printer Friendly


We who sign Humanism and Its Aspirations declare ourselves in general
agreement with its substance and, while not necessarily endorsing all
of its specifics, unreservedly offer it to a candid public.

Philip W. Anderson
Nobel laureate in physics, 1977

Philip Appleman
Poet and distinguished professor emeritus of
English, Indiana University

Khoren Arisian
Senior Leader, NY Society for Ethical Culture

Janet Jeppson Asimov
Psychiatrist and science writer

Bill Baird
Reproductive rights pioneer

Frank Berger
Pharmacologist, developer of anti-anxiety drugs

Paul D. Boyer
Nobel laureate in chemistry, 3997

Lester R. Brown
Founder and president, Earth Policy Institute

August Brunsman
Executive director, Secular Student Alliance

Owen Chamberlain
Nobel laureate in physics, 1959

Matt Cherry
Executive director,
Institute for Humanist Studies

Carlton Coon
Former U.S. Ambassador to Nepal

Paul J. Crutzen
Nobel laureate in chemistry, 1995

Richard Dawkins
Charles Simonyi professor, University of Oxford

Pierre-Gilles de Gennes
Nobel laureate in physics, 1991

Johann Deisenhofer
Nobel laureate in chemistry, 1988

Riane Eisler
President, Center for Partnership Studies

Edward Ericson
Leader emeritus, Ethical Culture

Roy P. Fairfield
Cofounder, Union Graduate School

Antony Flew

Levi Fragell
International Humanist and Ethical Union

Kendyl Gibbons
Unitarian Universalist Ministers Association

Sheldon Glashow
Nobel laureate in physics, 1979

Babu R. R. Gogineni
Executive director,
International Humanist and Ethical Union

Sol Gordon

Herbert A. Hauptman
Nobel laureate in chemistry, 1985

Jim Herrick
Editor, the New Humanist

Dudley Herschbach
Nobel laureate in chemistry, 1986

Fran Hosken
Editor, Women's International Network News

Stefan Jonasson
Immediate past president, HUUmanists

Larry Jones
President, Institute for Humanist Studies

Jone Johnson-Lewis
President, National Leaders Council of the
American Ethical Union

Gerald A. Larue
Professor emeritus of biblical history and
archaeology, University of Southern California

Yuan T. Lee
Nobel laureate in chemistry, 1986

Joseph Levee
Board member,
Council for Secular Humanism

Ellen McBride
Immediate past president,
American Ethical Union

Mario J. Molina
Nobel laureate in chemistry, 1995

Lester Mondale
Retired Unitarian Universalist minister and
signer of Humanist Manifestos I and II

Henry Morgentaler
Abortion rights pioneer

Stephen Mumford
Center for Research on Population and Security

William Murry
President and dean,
Meadville-Lombard Theological School

Erwin Neher
Nobel laureate in medicine, 1991

Sara Oelberg
President, HUUmanists

Indumati Parikh
Center for the Study of Social Change, India

Katha Pollitt
Columnist, the Nation

Ilya Prigogine
Nobel laureate in chemistry, 1977

Howard Radest
Dean emeritus, the Humanist Institute

James Randi
Magician, founder of the James Randi
Educational Foundation

Larry Reyka
President, the Humanist Society

Richard J. Roberts
Nobel laureate in medicine, 1993

David Schafer
Retired research physiologist,
U.S. Veterans Administration

Eugenie Scott
Executive director,
National Center for Science Education

James R. Simpson
Professor of international agricultural
economics, Ryukoku University, Japan

Warren Allen Smith
Editor and author

Matthew les Spetter
Associate professor in social psychology at the
Peace Studies Institute of Manhattan College, NY

Oliver Stone
Academy award-winning filmmaker

John E. Sulston
Nobel laureate in medicine, 2002

John M. Swomley
Professor emeritus of social ethics,
St. Paul School of Theology

Robert Tapp
Dean, the Humanist Institute

Henry Taube
Nobel laureate in chemistry, 1983

E. Donnall Thomas
Nobel laureate in medicine, 1990

Kurt Vonnegut

Sherwin Wine
Founder and president,
Society for Humanistic Judaism

All Living Past Presidents of the
American Humanist Association

Edd Doerr, 1995-2002
Michael W. Werner, 1993-1994
Suzanne I. Paul, 1992
Lyle L. Simpson, 1981-1984
Bette Chambers, 1973-1979
Lloyd L. Morain, 1969-1972, 1951-1955
Robert W. McCoy, 1966-1968
Vashti McCollum, 1962-1965

The above is a partial list. Signers added after press time will appear
on the website of the American Humanist Association. Institutions are
listed for identification only
COPYRIGHT 2003 American Humanist Association
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:The Humanist
Date:May 1, 2003
Previous Article:Humanism and its aspirations.
Next Article:Just war theory.

Related Articles
Uniform Exchange of Information Agreement.
Landmine stockpiles.
Landmines treaty: one year later.
"People's treaty" to ban landmines: Ottawa Process delivers prompt results.
First Landmine Monitor Report released.
IRAN - May 25 - Lawmakers Protest To Ayatollah.
The North-South Divide.
Political support grows for a global Arms Trade Treaty.
UNEP Finance Initiative.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |